Find full-text content of hundreds of journals and books and selective indexing of scholarly literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Scholarly journals in literature humanities, social sciences, mathematics, cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Find full-text, indexed and abstracts of scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Digital library of full-text scholarly journals, books, and primary sources. Discover content across a wide range of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, art, criminal justice, economics, history, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies. JSTOR is good for finding and accessing specific articles and books.
Find full-text, indexed, and abstracted articles covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Find current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences, physical & life sciences, and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
Collection of all the FirstSearch databases subscribed to by the University Libraries including ArticleFirst, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, World Almanac, WorldCat, and some subject databases.
Find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
NOTICE: ARTSTOR is no longer available; all content has been migrated to JSTOR. Clicking on this link will take you directly to JSTOR.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage from 1909 - 1975. An additional year is added annually.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 - 2002. Additional content added annually.
The first newspaper for women in the United States, The Lily, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It's local and national focus was both temperance and women’s rights. Available on the Accessible Archives platform.
Brown, Ruth Nicole, and Chamara Jewel Kwakye. Wish to Live: The Hip-Hop Feminism Pedagogy Reader. Educational Psychology. Volume 3. Peter Lang New York.
Cooper, Brittney C., Susana M. Morris, and Robin M. Boylorn. The crunk feminist collection. The Feminist Press at CUNY, 2016.
Duthely, Regina. "Black feminist hip-hop rhetorics and the digital public sphere." Changing English 24, no. 2 (2017): 202-212.
Durham, Aisha. "Home with hip hop feminism." Scholar's Symposium, The University of Tampa, 2018.
Durham, Aisha, Brittney C. Cooper, and Susana M. Morris. "The stage hip-hop feminism built: A new directions essay." Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society 38, no. 3 (2013): 721-737.
Hernandez, Jillian. "Carnal teachings: raunch aesthetics as queer feminist pedagogies in Yo! Majesty's hip hop practice." Women & Performance: a journal of feminist theory 24, no. 1 (2014): 88-106.
Hobson, Janell, and R. Dianne Bartlow. "Introduction: Representin': Women, Hip-Hop, and Popular Music." Meridians 8, no. 1 (2008): 1-14.
Kumpf, Terence. "From Queering to Trans* imagining: Sookee's Trans*/Feminist Hip-Hop." Transgender Studies Quarterly 3, no. 1-2 (2016): 175-184.
Lindsey, Treva B. "Let me blow your mind: Hip hop feminist futures in theory and praxis." Urban Education 50, no. 1 (2015): 52-77.
Love, Bettina L. Hip hop's li'l sistas speak: Negotiating hip hop identities and politics in the new South. New York, NY: Peter Lang, 2012.
Morgan, Joan. When chickenheads come home to roost: A hip-hop feminest breaks it down. Simon and Schuster, 2000.
Peoples, Whitney A. "“Under Construction” Identifying Foundations of Hip-Hop Feminism and Exploring Bridges between Black Second-Wave and Hip-Hop Feminisms." Meridians 8, no. 1 (2008): 19-52.
Pough, Gwendolyn D. "What It Do, Shorty?: Women, hip-hop, and a feminist agenda." Black Women, Gender & Families 1, no. 2 (2007): 78-99.
Pough, Gwendolyn D. Check it while I wreck it: Black womanhood, hip-hop culture, and the public sphere. Northeastern University Press, 2015.
Richardson, Elaine. "Developing critical hip hop feminist literacies: Centrality and subversion of sexuality in the lives of Black girls." Equity & Excellence in Education 46, no. 3 (2013): 327-341.
Saunders, Tanya. "Towards a transnational hip-hop feminist liberatory praxis: a view from the Americas." Social Identities 22, no. 2 (2016): 178-194.
Veltre, Vanessa J., and Susan Hadley. "It's bigger than hip-hop: A hip-hop feminist approach to music therapy with adolescent females." In Therapeutic uses of rap and hip-hop, pp. 79-98. Routledge, 2012.
Williams, Sherri. "Cardi B: Love & Hip Hop’s unlikely feminist hero." Feminist Media Studies 17, no. 6 (2017): 1114-1117.
Kanopy is a streaming video service that offers over 26,000 films from over 800 leading producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, The Great Courses, PBS, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber and First Run Features.
Find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
NOTICE: ARTSTOR is no longer available; all content has been migrated to JSTOR. Clicking on this link will take you directly to JSTOR.
Full-text of biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors from all time periods covering novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from antiquity-present.
Scholarly journals in literature humanities, social sciences, mathematics, cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
Find abstracts and citations to international literature in all aspects of the study of language (including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics) and linguistics (including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics).
