Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

New York Public Library Collection - Black Voters Rights

The future home of the "[t]he DTA will provide a centralized hub for transgender-related historical materials, including born-digital materials, materials contributed by independent projects, and information on archival holdings throughout the U.S., Canada, and Germany."

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. The site is it is maintained by Ken Middleton (ken.middleton@mtsu.edu), Digital Initiatives Librarian at Middle Tennessee State University's Walker Library.

"On-line archival collections featuring scanned pages and texts of the writings of women during the American Civil War. Includes the 1864 diary of Alice Williamson, a 16 year old girl from Gallatin, Tennessee, the papers of Rose O'Neal Greenhow, a renowned Confederate spy, and the papers of Sarah E. Thompson, a spy for the Union."

Behind the Veil - Oral Histories.

Special collections at Duke University. Includes Elizabeth Johnson Harris, Vilet Lester, Hannah Valentine and Lethe Jackson.

Lists of research collections and bibliographies from Middle Tennessee State University Library.

Description of new collection on renowned feminist author, cultural theorist, Gloria Evangelina Anzaldúa. Her manuscripts, notebooks are now held at the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at The University of Texas at Austin. Plans are in progress for some digital access.

The Library of Congress offers digital research collections and resources through this site. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America. The Women's History collections on this site include examples from the "Records of the National Woman's Party", and useful primary resources of 19th century texts found in periodicals. For example, the holograph of the anti-slavery speech handwritten by Susan B. Anthony can be viewed here.

"Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 9,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Making of America is made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation."

"Making Sense of Evidence helps students and teachers make effective use of primary sources. This source provides strategies for analyzing online primary materials, with interactive exercises and a guide to traditional and online sources. "Scholars in Action" segments show how scholars puzzle out the meaning of different kinds of primary sources, allowing you to try to make sense of a document yourself then providing audio clips in which leading scholars interpret the document and discuss strategies for overall analysis."

"(DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Currently DocSouth includes seven thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Currently DocSouth includes seven thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." Sponsored by The University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

This project "attempts to restore to the record those feminist presses founded between the year 1960 to 1985 and highlights the literary, social, political dimensions of the presses founded in the 1970's. The audio interviews with transcripts will be archived at the Schlesinger Library."