LibGuides: Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Journals, Publishing, Authoring, Open Access

Women's Studies Journals

Women's Studies Journals - U Albany
Selective list of WSS journals in print at the University at Albany.

Below are only a few examples of on-line full-text journals or lists of journals associated with Women's Studies Research. To search a more extensive list of all U Albany electronic journals and databases Click here for, DATABASES BY SUBJECT, then select Women's Studies.


Feminist Periodicals - University of Wisconsin-Madison, Women's Studies Office
Feminist Collections: A Quarterly of Women's Studies Resources: A list of the table of contents of past issues, along with some full text articles.
International Family Planning Perspectives and Digest: Available through JSTOR.
Feminist Africa provides a forum for progressive, cutting-edge gender research and feminist dialogue focused on the continent. By prioritising intellectual rigor, the journal seeks to challenge the technocratic fragmentation resulting from donor-driven and narrowly developmentalist work on gender in Africa." Cape Town, South Africa: African Gender Institute, 2002. For Feminist Africa: Diaspora Voices see (Issue 7 2007).
Jouvert - Journal of Postcolonial Studies: Includes some full-text articles and reviews on gender and postcolonial identities.

Journal Directories
U Albany University Library Reference site. Includes E-Zines.
Viva Women's History
Detailed list of journals indexed in Viva
Women in Judaism
Includes refereed online journals centered on gender issues in Judaism.
Signs
The leading international journal in women's studies -- This site offers the table of contents for past issues of Signs, published by the U. of Chicago Press and owned by our library. The focus of essays ranges from cross-disciplinary theory and methodology often focusing on concerns of women's studies.

Authoring, Publishing

Call for Conference Proposals - National Women's Studies Association
Authoring for conferences is an important method for authoring manuscripts. This site is an example of "calls for proposals" to prospective authors to deliver papers at conferences. Often these papers become published works.
Women's Studies International Forum - Example of Author Guidelines
This site provides an example of authoring guidelines. Each journal invites manuscripts for publication and also lists guidelines which clarify submission expectations. To find out more about publishing one needs to consult the journal's guidelines to see if there is a match before submitting. Reading these guidelines can also assist earlier in the process to identify where to send a manuscript.
Women's Studies and Gender Studies Publishers

Open Source

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open Access Feminist Journals
(Author Judy Markowitz, University of Maryland Libraries)

Online Journal Collections

Here are examples of online full-text journal collections.These collections include a wide variety of journals which could be needed for women's studies research. Both of these are retrospective and do not have the most current issue of the journals.

Project MUSE
Scholarly journals in literature humanities, social sciences, mathematics, cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
JSTOR
Digital library of full-text scholarly journals, books, and primary sources. Discover content across a wide range of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, art, criminal justice, economics, history, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies. JSTOR is good for finding and accessing specific articles and books.
JSTOR offers full-text keyword searching across its entire digital library collection, including images and content from articles, books, and pamphlets. Search results default to content licensed or purchased by the UAlbany Libraries, but you can change this setting for your session. JSTOR provides both Basic and some Advanced Search options, to help you find the content they need.
Guide: How To Use JSTOR

Press and Newsletters

GenderWatch
Find full-text articles from academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental (n-g-o) special reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Voices From the Radical Feminist Press (1960-1985), an Oral History
This project "attempts to restore to the record those feminist presses founded between the year 1960 to 1985 and highlights the literary, social, political dimensions of the presses founded in the 1970's. The audio interviews with transcripts will be archived at the Schlesinger Library."
Dissident Voice
A radical newsletter in the struggle for peace and justice.