LibGuides: Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Sexual Orientation (LGBTQI)

Finding Articles and Theses - Key Databases

Women's Studies Databases

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Find full-text of approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
LGBTQ+ Source
Find full-text, indexed and abstracts of scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
GenderWatch
Find full-text articles from academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental (n-g-o) special reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Women's Studies International
Find bibliographic information for journals and books drawn from a variety of women's studies sources and essential databases.
Dissertations & Theses: Global
Find doctoral dissertations and master's theses from universities and institutions all around the world.
Sociological Abstracts
Find abstracting and indexing of sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.

Sexual Orientation, LGBTQI Web Resources

Human Sexuality and Gender Identity Archives at UAlbany
University at Albany Archives access to descriptions of LGBTQ archival and special collections materials. These are located in the Science Library (third floor). M.E. Grenander Department of Archives and Special Collections. There are several collections and finding aids documenting LGBTQI history.
Social Welfare and LGBTQI Populations
UAlbany Social Welfare Librarian, Elaine Lasda-Bergman web page offers sources specific to the field and study of social welfare.
ACLU Lesbian and Gay Rights
Provides news and legislation on (LGBT) Rights.
BlackStripe
Resources for SGL/LGBT People of African Descent. This site remains for historical research but is no longer being maintained. Site was last updated 1997.
Combahee River Collective
"The Combahee River Collective statement was created and written by Afrocentric black feminists who parted ways from the NBFO (National Black Feminist Organization) in order to create, define, and clarify their own politics. These women are actively committed to struggling against racial, sexual, heterosexual, and class oppression. It is their particular task to further the development of integrated analysis and practice based upon the fact that the major systems of oppression are interlocking." The source for this statement was cited by Zillah Eisenstein as found in the book "Home Girls, A Black Feminist Anthology," edited by Barbara Smith, ©1983, published by Kitchen Table: Women of Color Press, Inc., New York, New York.
more...less...
mith and her peers found community at the National Black Feminist Organization (NBFO), a group that worked specifically to address the issues faced by Black women in America.
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
Contains international press releases, a bimonthly online journal published in English, Spanish, and French, links to similar international online resources organized by country. The site also has asylum information for those persecuted because of their sexual orientation.
Cornell Human Sexuality Collection
"The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography."
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The archive gathers and preserves records of lesbian lives and activities. The Lesbian Herstory Archives of New York City is the largest and oldest Lesbian archive in the world, began in 1973 as an outgrowth of a Lesbian consciousness-raising group at the Gay Academic Union.
Rainbow Dialogues - Archives from OUT ALLIANCE, Rochester New York
Shoulders to Stand On - Rochester, NY
LGBT Resources - In the Princeton University Library
May be available ILL (Interlibrary Loan). Includes bibliography of LGBT resources, book reviews, e-journals, and can be searched by listed subjects.
LGBTQ Before Going to College: Resources for Students
Commercial Site but may have some useful links
more...less...
Before You Go to College: LGBTQ+ Resources for Students
LibGuide - Lesbian Studies (University of Kentucky)
From the Research and Study of Lesbians site developed by Librarian, Reinette Jones.
LibGuide - Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies (UC Santa Barabara)
Excellent academic sources and Web sites from the University of California, Santa Barbara Library. Includes sites to specialized archives and libraries, organizations, e-journals, and bibliographies.
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History. The site attempts to include original texts, discussions of LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Queer Resources Directory
An extensive directory of over 25,000 files, it contains news updates, information on domestic partnership, the American Psychological Association (APA) resolution on the treatment of homosexuality, and several other links.
Research and Study of Lesbians
University of Kentucky LibGuide.
Resources for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered History (UAlbany)
M.E. Grenander Department of Special Collections and Archives University Libraries, University at Albany.
Voice of the Shuttle - Gay, Lesbian & Queer Studies (US Santa Barbara)
VoS includes extensive list of sites on gay, lesbian & queer studies. This site is recognized as one of the most comprehensive social science meta sites. Use the link above and then click on "Gender Studies." VoS is woven by Alan Liu and a development team in the U.California, Santa Barbara, English Department.
WWWomen Search Directory - Lesbian/Lesbigay Resources

Transgender Archive

Digital Transgender Archive

"The DTA will provide a centralized hub for transgender-related historical materials, including born-digital materials, materials contributed by independent projects, and information on archival holdings throughout the U.S., Canada, and Germany.

In order to improve access to transgender history, the DTA will virtually merge these disparate archival collections, digital materials, and independent projects through an expansive and highly adaptable search engine. With rich primary source materials and powerful search tools, the DTA will offer a generative point of entry into the fascinating and expansive world of and expansive world of transgender history.

In collaboration with a number of scholars, students, activists, archivists, and developers, the DTA is being developed by K.J. Rawson, Assistant Professor of English at the College of the Holy Cross."