Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Check out the DATA and CodeBook Tabs.

"The Bill, Hillary & Chelsea Clinton Foundation have joined forces to gather data and analyze the gains made for women and girls over the last two decades, as well as the gaps that remain.

This site and The Full Participation Report are the result—home to 850,000 data points, spanning more than 20 years, from over 190 countries. Through data visualizations and stories, we aim to present the gains and gaps in understandable, sharable ways—including by making the data open and easily available."

Page from Lorre Smith, Sociology Bibliographer, U Albany

OECD iLibrary provides electronic access to all Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development books, reports, annuals, working papers, loose-leaf binders, periodicals and databases. This database contains research on social and policy issues, as well as a wealth of statistical information. Use the "Advanced Search" option to search all information.

From Economist Intelligence Unit, ViewsWire pulls out relevant material from all of EIU's many publications and organizes it by country and region. Between 100-150 articles are added each day. The service goes beyond simply reporting news by incorporating sophisticated analyses of political, economic and business developments. For each country the information is arranged in three sections: Background, Briefings and Forecasts. EIU ViewsWire supports navigation by country, by subject, and by a powerful search facility, which includes the option to set up a range of personal profiles. Search MINERVA Catalog for information on all issues.

Politico has an article about impeachment in NY.

Discusses bills passed in June 2019 to lower the standard of review for sexual harassment cases (S.6577 [Biaggi]/A.8421 [Simotas] and a related amendment [S. 6594/A. 8424])

This Center offers online full-text research reports and analysis on women in state leadership, gubernatorial appointments, policy issues such as democratic representation and underrepresentation of people of color. Archival collection for this organization is held in M. E. Grenander Department of Special Collections & Archives at the University Libraries, University at Albany.

"The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women's political participation." This page includes election coverage pertaining to women in office, essays and statistics on women in U.S. politics.

From the Rutgers University, "CWGL has fostered women's leadership in the area of human rights through women's global leadership institutes, strategic planning activities, international mobilization campaigns, UN monitoring, global education endeavors, publications, and a resource center."

Women's Speeches From Around the World.

A "leadership development program for women administrators seeking to advance to executive positions in higher education."

Sojourner Truth Virtual Institute.

Table showing the representation of women in the parliaments of over 100 countries. This table was compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

The Inter-Parliamentary Union's Web page on the representation of in women in the political systems of the world's sovereign states. Includes statistical information.

Documents women Nobel Laureates from 1903 to the present. Includes biographies, bibliographies and related links. Also see http://www.nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/lists/women.html

Includes information on world leaders from 1945-present, women leaders, current rulers, and data on length of office for some leaders.

A Danish student's personal page provides an extensive listing of women leaders. The author indicates he found most information on the Web. Some of the sources for the information listed can be found on the author's page. Be sure to double check other sources.

Papers of Cessie Alfonso, 1945-2016
Author / Creator
Alfonso, Cessie, 1945-
Finding aids
Electronic finding aid is availablehttps://id.lib.harvard.edu/ead/sch01972/catalog
Description
.63 linear feet (1+1/2 file box)
History note
A nationally recognized expert in forensic social work and domestic violence, Cecilia (Cessie) Alfonso is the founder and president of Alfonso Consultants, which provides psychosocial assessments to clients of civil and criminal attorneys throughout the United States and abroad. Since 1986 she has consulted on over 700 capital cases, often testifying as an expert in the penalty phase of those cases. A first-generation Caribbean American, Alfonso has conducted mitigation investigations in Cuba, Columbia, El Salvador, and Puerto Rico, and regularly leads trainings on domestic violence, cultural competency, among other topics. Alfonso attended Montefiore School of Practical Nursing (LPN 1965), Hood College (BA 1973), and Rutgers Graduate School of Social Work (MSW 1977). A member of the Combahee River Collective, she is an activist who marched against the Vietnam war, for civil rights, and women, lesbian, and gay rights. In 2008 she was recognized by Governor Jon S. Corzine of New Jersey as a leading mitigation specialist who significantly contributed to the abolition of the death penalty in the state. In 2017 she was part of the Truth Commission on Poverty in New York State, organized by the Labor-Religion Coalition of New York State.
Summary
The papers of Cessie Alfonso include biographical information, writings by her and others, and material regarding her company, Alfonso Consultants, Inc., also known as, Alfonso Associates.