Art Abstracts is an art research database providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of national and international art journals, , as well as indexing and abstracting of art dissertations, and indexing of art reproductions, which provide examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Find full-text articles from academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental (n-g-o) special reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Find full-text, indexed and abstracts of scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Feminism and Art--Biography
Feminism and Art--Bibliography
Women Artists--Biography
Women Artists--Bibliography
Gay Artists
Art and Society
Social justice in art -- Pictorial works.
Gender identity in art -- Pictorial works.
Feminism
Feminism and Art
Feminist Art Criticism
Feminism and the arts
Feminism and the arts -- Congresses.
Gender identity -- Haiti.
Blacks -- Sexual behavior -- Haiti.
Homosexuality.
Feminist Theory.
Queer theory.
Transgender people
Gender identity.
Sexual orientation.
Artistic Collaboration
Creation (Literary, artistic, etc.)
Women artists -- Africa -- Biography.
Women artists, Black -- Biography.
Women artists -- Congresses.
Women artists -- Public opinion.
Women artists -- West (U.S.) -- Biography.
Gay artists -- 20th century.
Minority women artists -- America -- Biography. (Native American Women Artists or Latin American Women Artists or African American Women Artists.)
Masculinity in Art
Asian Pacific American Women Artists
African American women artists.
African American women dancers -- Biography.
African American Art
Africa in Art
African diaspora in art.
Harlem Renaissance
Inuit artists -- Northwest Territories -- Cape Dorset.
Inuit women -- Northwest Territories
Women artists -- South Africa.
Art, South African -- 20th century.
Women painters -- China -- Exhibitions.
Women painters -- China -- Hong Kong -- Exhibitions.
Women artists -- Biography.
Women artists -- Bibliography.
Women artists -- Latin America -- Psychology.
Women artists -- Psychology.
Self-perception in women.
Self-portraits.
Women Sculptors
Women textile designers –
Hand weaving – United States-- History -- 20th century.
Women Singers
Women painters -- France -- Paris -- Exhibitions.
Women artists -- France -- Paris -- Exhibitions.
Women artists -- Great Britain -- Exhibitions.
Hispanic American artists -- 20th century.
Painting, Modern -- 19th century -- Exhibitions.
Art, Modern -- 19th century -- Exhibitions.
Art and society -- New York (State) -- New York -- History -- 19th century.
Body Image
Man-Woman Relationships
Women in Art.
Women in literature.
Painters in literature.
Women painters.
Art and literature.
Women motion picture editors -- United States -- Biography.
Women in the motion picture industry -- United States -- History -- 20th century.
Women in the theater -- 20th century.
Women artists -- Exhibitions.
Women artists -- United States -- Exhibitions.
Women artists -- New York (State) -- New York -- Social conditions.
Women artists -- New York (State) -- New York -- Economic conditions.
Women and the decorative arts -- History -- 19th century.
Women and the decorative arts -- History -- 20th century.
Femininity in art.
Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Exhibitions.
Art, Modern -- 21st century -- Exhibitions.
Alter, Linda L. -- Art collections -- Exhibitions.
Subject - Corporate Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts -- Exhibitionsmen in the theater -- 21st century.
National Museum of Women in the Arts (U.S.)
War in art.
Art and war.
Art, American -- Themes, motives.
Prisoners as artists.
Women Prisoners
Artists’ books -- United States -- Catalogs.
Women artists -- United States -- Catalogs.
Artists’ books -- Washington (D.C.) -- Catalogs.
Subject - Corporate National Museum of Women in the Arts (U.S.) -- Catalogs.
Prints, American -- 20th century -- Exhibitions.
E-Book Sources:
Addressing the Other Woman: Textual correspondences in feminist art and writing. Kimberly Lamm. 2018.Online / N72.F45 L36 2018
The Aesthetics of Loss: German women’s art of the First World War. Claudia Siebrecht. 2013. Online / D 639 A73 S54 2013 WWW
Art Labor, Sex Politics: Feminist effects in 1970's British art and performance. Siona Wilson. 2014. Online / NX650.S54 W55 2014
Contemporary Japanese Women’s Theatre and Visual Arts: Performing girls’ aesthetics. Nobuko Anan. 2015. Online / PN2921 .A515
Dancing in Blackness: A Memoir. Halifu Osumare, 2017. Online / GV1624.7.A34 O78 2017
The Feminist Uncanny in Theory and Art Practice. Alexandra M. Kokoli. 2016. Online / NX180.F4 K65 2016
Indian Modern Dance, Feminism and Transnationalism. Prarthana Purkayastha, Plymouth. 2014. Online / GV1693 .P88 2014
Postmodern Puddles: A method for understanding the presence and meaning of bodily fluids in contemporary culture, and in artistic works of women, African-American, Latino and gay artists of the nineteen eighties and nineteen nineties. 2002.
Microfilm: HM 101 Z899 2002 L35 Online / HM 101 Z899 2002 L35 WWW
Reclaiming the Body: Feminist art in America. 2014. Streaming video - Online
Women Artists of the Harlem Renaissance. Edited by Amy Helene Kirschke. [2014] Online / N6538.N5 W66 2014
Women, Collective Creation, and Devised Performance The Rise of Women Theatre Artists in the Twentieth and Twenty-first Centuries. 2016. Online / PN1590.W64 W66 2016
Writers and Artists in Dialogue: Historical fiction about women painters. Cortney Cronberg Barko. 2016. Online / PN3441 .B37 2016
Virgin Sacrifice in Classical Art: Women, agency, and the Trojan War. Anthony F. Mangieri. 2017. Online / NX652.W6 M35 2017
Print Sources:
Africa Through the Eyes of Women Artists. by Betty LaDuke; preface by Elizabeth Catlett.Trenton, N.J. : Africa World Press, [1991]
University Library / Oversized *: N 7380 L25 1991
American Masculinities: A historical encyclopedia. Bret Carroll. 2003. (on order)
Art Work: Women artists and democracy in mid-nineteenth-century New York. April F. Masten. [2008]
University Library / N 8354 M38 2008
Creating Their Own Image: The history of African-American women artists. Lisa Farrington. 2005.
University Library / Oversized *: N 6538 N5 F27 2005
Contemporary American Women Sculptors. Virginia Watson-Jones. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1986).
Reference NB 212 W37 1986
Life Stories of Women artists, 1550-1800: An anthology. Julia K.Dabbs. [2009] University Library / N 8354 D33 2009
Modern Women: Women artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Edited by Cornelia Butler and Alexandra Schwartz ; with essays by Esther Adler [and others]. [2010] University Library / N8354 .M63
Inuit Women Artists: Voices from Cape Dorset. Edited by Odette Leroux, Marion E. Jackson, and Minnie Vancouver : Douglas & McIntyre ; Hull, Quebec : Canadian Museum of Civilization; Seattle : University of Washington Press, [1994]
University Library / E 99 E7 I565 1994
The Book as Art: Artists’ books from the National Museum of Women in the arts. Krystyna Wasserman ; with essays by Johanna Drucker and Audrey Niffenegger. 2007. University Library / Oversized *: N 7433.35 U6 W37 2007
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century. Edited by Jules Heller and Nancy G. Heller. 1995.
University Library / Reference: N 6503 N67 1995
Women Artists at the Millennium. Edited by Carol Armstrong and Catherine de Zegher. [2006]University Library / NX 180 F4 W655 2006
Women Artists of Color: A bio-critical sourcebook to 20th century artists in the Americas. Edited by Phoebe Farris. 1999.
University Library / N 8354 W656 1999
