Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Books from Other Libraries
Worldwide catalog. Most of the US academic libraries are represented in this catalog. Many of the resources from libraries can be requested via our Interlibrary loan service
Women's Studies Databases
Women's Studies Databases
List of databases potentially useful for Women's Studies at U Albany. Please note the sub-topics list on this page. (Key WGSS databases include GenderWatch, LGBT LIFE, Women's Studies International, Contemporary Women's Issues...)
Dissertations and Theses
An important database for graduate students. This database indexes MA theses and Ph.D. theses. Abstracts for each dissertation or thesis are generally accessible. Some full-text access is offered for more recent dissertations.
Women's Human Rights Resources Database
This database focuses on resources related to international women's rights law and Canadian women's rights law, with information from United Nations sources. The University of Toronto makes this site available.
Women's Studies Bibliographies
American Women's History: Bibliographies and Research Guides
Provides citations to print and Internet reference sources, as well as to selected large primary source collections. The guide also provides information about the tools researchers can use to find additional books, articles, dissertations, and primary sources.
There are many examples of bibliographies in our collection and available digitally on the Internet. The following list are just a few Internet examples. Please search the New Search Tool or WORLDCAT to find bibliographies by a particular topic. It is best to consider using a broad theme which a specific focus might be found.
Black American Feminisms: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography
This "multidisciplinary subject bibliography of black American feminist writings that follows is an effort to combat the erasure of black feminist subjectivity and thought through the promotion and use of the literature for the general public, students, scholars and life-long learners seeking information on African American feminism and African American feminist interpretations of a broad range of issues. The bibliography documents and validates an intellectual tradition that is continuously ghettoized within black studies, women's studies and society as a whole. Moreover, the bibliography serves to ensure a place for black American feminist ." Examples of related bibliographies include Lesbian Subjectivities: Theorizing, Critiquing, Personalizing and Film, Media and Television and Legal Theory and many other social science bibliographies which specifically intersect women and gender studies. Compiled by Sherri L. Barnes, University of California Santa Barbara Libraries.
Core Book List in Women's Studies - (ACRL-WGSS)
Bibliography of books currently in print arranged by subject headings. Sponsored by the Association of College and Research Libraries, Women's Studies Section (ACRL-WGSS).
Feminae Medieval Women and Gender Index
Scholarship on women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. A searchable index for journal articles, book reviews and essays in books.
Feminist Law and Jurisprudence - VT
Bibliographies on feminist law in a variety of countries. Hosted by the Center for Digital Discourse and Culture at Virginia Tech University.
Provides bibliographies on gender, ethnicity and class, nationalism and world politics. Includes a variety of interest areas such as history, religion, literary criticism, and the performing arts.
"H-Net Reviews" in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review journal. H-Net is also an edited electronic discussion group for historians, teachers, archivists, and others interested in women's history.
Wisconsin Bibliographies in Women's Studies Series
"This is a series of bibliographies published by the University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian's Office. The bibliographies have been prepared by librarians, women's studies faculty members, graduate students in library and information studies, staff members of the Women's Studies Librarian's Office, and others.
In addition to the bibliographies available electronically here, there are older bibliographies available in print versions only. Single print copies of most are free upon request." Some are available freely on the Web.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Found under DATABASES at the University at Albany.
ViVa Women's History
A site providing a bibliography of articles about women's and gender history and is compiled by the International Institute of Social History, Amsterdam, Netherlands. The periods covered range from Ancient to Modern history. Articles are published in English, French, German, and Dutch.
African Women's Bibliographic Database
"This English language database contains over 22,000 citations from 1986 to present. The database indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; Masters theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes." The database indexes what the compiler can find published in English about African women. This database is the outgrowth of a three volume work published in 1989 by Greenwood Press that indexed materials on African Women published during the International Women's Decade, 1975-1985.
Women's Rights in India: A Bibliography
"The University of Toronto's Bora Laskin Library and The Women's Human Rights Resources Programme (WHRR) collects, organizes and disseminates information on women's human rights law to facilitate research, teaching and cooperation. The information introduces women's human rights law in general, emphasizes selected international and Canadian topics, and explores the interconnections between domestic and international human rights law."
Southeast Asia Women Studies Bibliography
Bibliographies covering Southeastern Asia, which can be searched by area or country. Reflects materials held at UC Berkeley -- accessible either through our library or through Inter-Library Loan (ILL).