Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Literature

Literature

 

African American Women Writers of the 19th Century

A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920. A full text database and is key-word-searchable.

Bibliography for Women's Literature

"On this page the reader interested in women's studies will find a bibliography of scholarship on women's art and lives, with an emphasis on women writers from the medieval through the 19th century European world."

A Celebration of Women Writers

A site devoted to providing biographical information on women authors and bibliographies that are searchable by name, time period, or country. This source is supported by Carnegie Mellon University.

Feminism and Women's Literature

Contains numerous links to sites that concentrate on women's literature and gender studies.

MLA Database and English Sources

South Asian Women's Network (Sawnet)

An excellent source of information on women writers from South Asia and what they have written. This site also has many links on women in Asia. Check out the Sawnet Bookshelf.

Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers of Color

An instructional World Wide Web site focusing on the lives and works of women writers of color.

Working Press

An agency which encourages working class people, especially from marginalized groups, to realize their work in book format. Sarah Richardson, the author of "Writing on the Line" an annotated list of working class women writers of the 20th Century, describes where her idea for the book came from, and the process of researching and writing the book.

 

 

Subject Guide

Deborah LaFond's picture
Deborah LaFond
Contact:
University Library
LI 205
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518)442-3599
Website Skype Contact: fondulacd