Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies Topics LibGuide

A listing of sites selected by Academic Info gateway.

Developed by Middle Tennessee State University Library.

This is one training site with a video on how to make an account.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. The site is it is maintained by Ken Middleton (ken.middleton@mtsu.edu), Digital Initiatives Librarian at Middle Tennessee State University's Walker Library.

An on-line archival collection from the Special Collections Library, Duke University.

Much of this material is new to the scholarly community and provides a window not only into Emma Goldman but also into social and cultural movements in late nineteenth- and early twentieth- century America, Europe, Asia and Latin America.

This site lists " on-line sources on the website of the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America and resources to collections in the Harvard Business School's Historical Collections on Women, Enterprise and Society. " For example, the site claims to have "primary sources relating to colonial shop keeper Elizabeth Murray, both images and texts; time line; family tree; bibliography; grade-level specific lesson plans for elementary, middle, and high school classes.

From Middle Tennessee State University's "American Women's History: A Research Guide" by Ken Middleton.

Contains the full-text of the U.S. Constitution and amendments related to women and civil rights.

This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.

Look for local archival collections on women and women's organizations. Also listed here, are Resources for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered History: A guide to electronic and print resources for conducting research on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered History by Graduate Student Michelle Powers.

A project of the Department of History at New York University.

An extensive chronology of important events on the route to women's equity. This site was established for the 150th Anniversary of the Seneca Falls Convention of 1848 and includes excellent "favorite sites" on women's history, organizations and contemporary movement resources.

University of California Berkeley Bancroft Library, Regional Oral History Office features full-length oral histories of seven major figures in twentieth-century suffragist history. The site also includes the contents of the University of California Black Alumni Series Collection.

FLICKR Commons Archive - "The library dates its origin from August 26, 1943. On that day Radcliffe College received from alumna Maud Wood Park '98, who had been a leader in the movement for woman suffrage, her collection of books, papers, and memorabilia on women reformers. Her "Woman's Rights Collection" became the nucleus of a research library called the Women's Archives. To honor Harvard University historian Arthur M. Schlesinger and his wife Elizabeth Bancroft Schlesinger, who were strong supporters of its mission, the library was renamed in 1965. When a new women's movement surged in the 1960s and 1970s, the library's collections grew very rapidly, as feminist activists highlighted the importance of women's history and created their own documents and publications." The library holds letters and diaries, photographs, books and periodicals, ephemera, oral histories, and audiovisual materials that document the history of women, families, and organizations, primarily in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Archival sources from the Electronic Text Center, University of Virginia.

Primary source materials documenting the historical experience of women in the United States and abroad from the colonial era to the present. Subject strengths include birth control, women's rights, suffrage, the contemporary women's movement, U.S. women working abroad, the arts (especially theater), the professions (especially journalism and social work), and middle-class family life in nineteenth and twentieth century New England. Collections include rich sources of visual images, as well as manuscript and printed material.

Sweatshop history archival presentation by the Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation and Archives at Cornell University in cooperation with the Union of Needletrades,Industrial and Textile Employees.

2025 post addresses Rwandan Women Leadership and Participation.

Video walk through on how to start a new WIKIPEDIA page

Includes oral history sites, digital collections, and megasites. Created by the Office of the Women's Studies Librarian - University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Historiography of women as lawyers in the United States. Pioneer women lawyers, their aspirations and accomplishments.

Licensed database in the University Library. Examples of archival women's history projects, bibliographies, thematic research guides and full-text essays. "A large part of this website is now co-published by Alexander Street Press and available by subscription only. On that site, an extensive database and "semantic indexing" provides rich keyword searching of all document projects as well as 29,000 additional pages of primary documents. Full-text searching of freely-available document projects continues to be accessible from this page." UAlbany now subscribes to this resource. Please go to the Database Finder or the New Search Tool on the UAlbany Libraries Homepage.

"This site will provide access to digitized books (over 2000), manuscripts (10,000 pages) and images (1,000) from the collections of Harvard University Libraries and Museums on the topic of women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930."