Find full-text content of hundreds of journals and books and selective indexing of scholarly literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Digital library of full-text scholarly journals, books, and primary sources. Discover content across a wide range of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, art, criminal justice, economics, history, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies. JSTOR is good for finding and accessing specific articles and books.
JSTOR offers full-text keyword searching across its entire digital library collection, including images and content from articles, books, and pamphlets. Search results default to content licensed or purchased by the UAlbany Libraries, but you can change this setting for your session. JSTOR provides both Basic and some Advanced Search options, to help you find the content they need.
Guide: How To Use JSTOR
Find full-text, indexed, and abstracted articles covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of history journals and books, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
Find current full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences, physical & life sciences, and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights. Coverage from 1911 - 2002. Additional content added annually.
The first newspaper for women in the United States, The Lily, was issued from 1849 until 1853 under the editorship of Amelia Bloomer (1818-1894). It's local and national focus was both temperance and women’s rights. Available on the Accessible Archives platform.
Collection of all the FirstSearch databases subscribed to by the University Libraries including ArticleFirst, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, World Almanac, WorldCat, and some subject databases.
Find images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
NOTICE: ARTSTOR is no longer available; all content has been migrated to JSTOR. Clicking on this link will take you directly to JSTOR.
Full-text of biographies, bibliographies, and literary criticism of authors from all time periods covering novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from antiquity-present.
Scholarly journals in literature humanities, social sciences, mathematics, cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
Find abstracts and citations to international literature in all aspects of the study of language (including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics) and linguistics (including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics).
