Site includes the Beethoven Bibliography Database, a fully-indexed bibliography of materials relating to Ludwig van Beethoven. A search engine provides for searching by title, author, subject, and several other criteria. Also provides links to other relevant online databases. The Center is the only institution in North America devoted solely to the life, works, and accomplishments of Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). The Center has the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside of Europe.
Consists of digitized images of all scores in the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection. Users can search or browse over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin by titles, genres, and plate numbers.
Perform a keyword search or use the alphabetical display to find information on the lives and works of classical composers. Provides links to a large selection of Web sites devoted to composers and to other types of information about music.
Devoted to classical composers. Includes an interesting collection of links to related sites. "This site is designed to show examples of instrumental works now available on CD, and to give some biographical information about their creators." Includes well-known composers such as Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1875-1912), Edmond Dede (1827-1903), Robert Nathaniel Dett (1882-1943), Duke Ellington (1899-1974), Scott Joplin (1868-1917), Florence Price (1887-1953), Chevalier de Saint-Georges (1739-1799), and William Grant Still (1895-1978) as well as lesser-known composers. Available in French or English language.
The dictionary contains basic biographical information about more than 500 composers. Each entry also includes a list of major works, short bibliographies, links to other sites, and more.
Focuses on Shostakovich, Prokoviev, and several other composers from the former Soviet Union.
Source of information about Polish composers and their works.
An attractive and user-friendly source of information about women composers of the past 250 years.
