The libraries provide electronic access to selected articles about music from journals indexed in these databases, which are only accessible to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff:
Search over 7,000 full-text periodicals (6,000+ are peer-reviewed) in the social sciences, humanities, and science and technology.
Black Studies Center is a leading tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Digital library of full-text scholarly journals, books, and primary sources. Discover content across a wide range of subjects, including African American studies, anthropology, art, criminal justice, economics, history, literature, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's, gender, and sexuality studies. JSTOR is good for finding and accessing specific articles and books.
Scholarly journals in literature humanities, social sciences, mathematics, cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
Find articles and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
These databases are freely accessible to the public:
Peer-reviewed, multimedia Web journal. Includes articles, reviews, and more. Provides links to related Web sites arranged in the following categories: Institutions, Publications, Single titles, Teaching, and Other. (Issues available: No. 1, October, 1995+)
Gramophone Online is the electronic version of Gramophone Magazine. Offers daily international news of the music world, reviews, and links to many relevant Web sites. The site hosts Gramofile, the world's largest archive of record reviews. Users may access material from previous issues of the magazine, extra news channels, audio clips, expanded competitions areas, and the entire contents of the Grove Concise Dictionary of Music.
"Refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the seventeenth century. These include historical and archival studies, performance practice, music theory, aesthetics, dance and theater. The JSCM also publishes critical reviews and summary listings of recently published books, scores, recordings, and electronic media." (Issues available: Vol. 1, No. 1, 1995+) .
"The world's first daily classical music magazine." Presents features and regular series, including book, CD, concert, opera, downloadable music, Web site reviews, interviews, editorials, international news from the music community, and concert listings from around the world. (Issues available: 1999+).
Refereed electronic journal that includes articles, book reviews, reports, announcements of upcoming conferences and calls for papers, job opportunities, abstracts of recently completed and in-progress dissertations, and summaries of recently published books. (Issues available: Vol. 0, No. 1, 1993+).
Founded in 1961 by the Rockefeller Foundation, under the direction of distinguished composer and musicologist Juan Orrego-Salas, the Latin American Music Center is the oldest center of its kind in the United States.
