Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page includes a selection of web resources that include streaming videos available for a limited time, restricted by geographic region, limited access to its catalog content or registration requirements. For open access only options, please check the other pages in this guide.
The Cinema Tropical Collection
It makes select Latin American films available digitally for the first time ever. Combining the format of a curated online film series with virtual Q&As with the directors, plus VOD distribution. Films will premiere for free on an specific day and time (check schedule at this website) and will be available to stream for free for 24 hours. After that initial window, the film will be available on VOD in Cinema Tropical’s VOD platform, Tropical on Demand
Havana Film Festival NY (HFFNY)
In the coming weeks, HFFNY will be sharing some Cuban and Latin American films. Every week or so, new films and links will be posted in its Facebook
This is an online initiative by the Los Angeles Latino International Film Festival’s (LALIFF). Currently, it offers some films for a limited period ranging from one day to several weeks. Their 2020 Program will be live on 5/5/20.
Latin American Initiatives (including several countries)
Digital platform specialized in Latin American cinema. Participant countries are: Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, and Uruguay. Its content is all free for people in Latin America. For those films freely available from the U.S., click on "PELICULAS" and then limit/filter by "TODO EL MUNDO" under the navigation bar on the left of your screen. Registration is required to watch them.
Initiative developed by the INCAA - National Institute of Cinema and Audiovisual Arts. Limited access to its streaming video catalog is available outside of Argentina depending on the country you are accessing it from.
Online audiovisual platform developed by the Chilean Ministry of Cultures, Arts and Heritage. Limited access outside of Chile. You can only watch those films marked as "“disponibles en todos los países”. To acces a complete list of videos available abroad, type "ondasinfronteras" in the search feature.
Cine Cubano en Cuarentena. Repositorio
A compilation of Cuban films, mostly authorized by their directors, others are just embedded from platforms such as Youtube and Vimeo where their creators have established their own privacy restrictions. Some films are just freely available for a limited time. In some cases, passwords are provided to access the films. Hosted by Rialta, an Iberoamerican alliance for literature and the arts. Rialta is a not-for-profit civil association. Founded by a group of Cuban intellectuals.
Lisandro Perez-Rey - Cuba Film Trilogy
Lisandro Perez-Rey is the producer and director of these three feature-length documentaries about Cuba and Cuban immigrants. For a limited time is available his documentary BEYOND THE THOSE I LEFT BEHIND is not restricted. La Fabri K is not freely available.
Platform that includes access to Dominican feature films, series and documentaries. Available for free for 30 days. You need to register for this. Please be aware that after this is $4.99/month so make sure that your credit card is not automatically charged.
La Casa del Cine MX - Cine Gratis
This selection of freely available Mexican and International films is a project of La Casa del Cine MX in collaboration with production companies, distributors and the Cinemateca Nacional. The Casa del Cine M is an inclusive and accessible meeting point, located in the heart of the Historic Center of Mexico City. Its goal is to bring quality cinema to all audiences and to promote training in filmmaking processes.
Festival Internacional de Cine de Morelia - Cine en Linea
Brief selection of Mexican feature films and short films hosted by Vimeo. All these films were awarded at the International Film Festival in Morelia, Mexico. Every two weeks, the Festival will include new titles.
It provides access to Peruvian Digital Film Library. Part of its feature films are available for free
. All the short films are available at no cost. Registration is required. Restrictions from the United States are minimal. It also includes a guide to films produced in Peru and information related to Peruvian cinema.
This website is specialized in contemporary independent Spanish Latin American cinema. Only part of its catalog is available for free. It facilitates streaming access to films that have emerged outside conventional Spanish cinematography. It also hosts the Márgenes Online Film Festival and films series devoted to an specific topic or director. Detailed information is presented for each film, including reviews and other texts related to the work. Most of the films are in Spanish or in another of the official languages in Spain. English subtitles are provided for those in other languages. Films searchable by keywords. Created by the production company River Lab.
Initiative by TVE (the Spanish TV channel supported by the government) to provide free access to Spanish films (it also includes some Latin American films co-produced with Spain). Some films cannot be accessed outside of Spain.
Initiative that provides access to a new short film daily. Developed by ALCINE, the prestigious short film festival of Alcalá de Henares (Madrid).