Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This digital collection includes more than 57,000 archival footage clips. Searchable by geographic location, date, and language. Also offers downloads for purchase.
History & Politics
La Transición Española
This documentary series portrays the events that happened in Spain between the assassination of the Franquist President, Carrero Blanco, in 1973, until the first democratic suffrage in 1977. Produced by TVE (Spanish Television). Includes access to the entire series (13 episodes)
Spanish Civil War Memory Project. Audiovisual Archive of the Francoist Repression
It includes "audiovisual testimonies of militants, witnesses, and victims of the Spanish Civil War and the Francoist repression." An initiative of UC San Diego in collaboration with several Spanish civic associations.
La Guerra Filmada
A Documentary series (7 episodes) that includes images filmed during the Spanish Civil War. Material provided by the National Film Library. Hosted by the Sanish Radio & Television Website.
Portal de Recursos Audiovisuales sobre la Transición Española
This portal organizes audiovisual content available on the Internet about Spain's transition period to democray. Most of the videos are clips available in youtube but a few full-length films are also included. The portal is divided in five sections: "Fechas de Memoria" includes clips of specific historical events, "Cine" provides an overview of films produced during this period, "Television" presents a selection of TV videos (including programs, series and commercials), "Cultura Popular" features videos related to popular culture such as music, sports and popular movements, and "Miradas" offers a selection of audiovisual works (both film and TV productions) that were created after the transition period but focus on it as the main theme. Developed by the research group TECMERIN of the University Carlos III in Madrid.
The Spanish American-War in Motion Pictures
"This presentantion features 68 motion pictures produced between 1898 and 1901 of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution. " Digital collection created by the Library of Congress.