Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Teaching/Learning Spanish as a Second Language: Resources
Catálogo de Voces Hispánicas
This website currently offers audiovisual samples of the main Spanish language varieties in both Spain and Latin America. Each sample is accompanied by its textual transcription and sociolinguistic information about the specific variety and geographical location that represents. Created by the Centro Virtual Cervantes.
¡Cine con clase!
Offers scenes of Spanish movies as pedagogical resources to learn the Spanish language. Scenes can be viewed along with the script. Search available by topic, grammatical structures, and vocabulary. Free registration as a user is required to view this website.
TV channel devoted to learning Spanish language. Videos are filmed in a situation comedy (sitcom) style. Browsable by language skill level (beginner, intermediate, advanced), tags (skills and topics), and by latest & popular videos. Also searchable by keyword. Each video comes with its script, translation into English, and grammar notes.
Spanish Proficiency Exercises
"Compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks...The gray menu bar at the top of each page contains proficiency topics, divided by level of dificulty: Beginning, Intermediate, Advanced, Superior. Click on any of these levels to see a list of topics. Then click on any of the specific topics to see the video clips, vocabulary lists, phrases lists, and mini-grammar explanations."
This portal provides access to videos for those interested in learning and teaching Spanish as a second language. Videos are organized according to the level of language knowledge. Each level contains videos with their own individual transcript. Most of the videos are accompanied by a work booklet, answer booklet, and useful notes for teaching purposes (learning objectives, etc.). Some videos are offered in two Spanish varieties: the one from Spain and a Latin American variety. All the videos and related materials are created under a Creative Commons License 3.0. Videos uploaded in youtube. Created by Agustín Iruela, a ESL professor with a doctorate in Education and winner of several prizes on his field. Interface available in English, French, Portuguese, Italian and Chinese.
Language & Linguistics
Dialectoteca del Español
This audiovisual library "offers video speech samples from a wide variety of native speakers to document the most representative patterns in the pronunciation of modern spoken Spanish." Browse options: by geographic, social, and contextual factors. Advanced search allows you to limit by country, linguistic feature, and dialect. Also includes interactive exercises for students.
Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
This digital library is a collaboration project "between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics [that] provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas." Browse by collections and search capabilities are available. Results can be refined by subjects, type of performance, and keyword tags.
Audiovideoteca de Escritores: Memoria Audiovisual de la Literatura Argentina
Archive that focuses on producing, preserving, and providing access to multimedia resources related to Argentine literature. It features over 350 interviews of literary authors accompanied by their bio-bibliographical information. It also includes a section where authors read their own works. Video content of events and programs related with literature and cultural life in Buenos Aires is also presented.
Caribbean Writers Summer Institute Video Archive
This video archive includes presentations related with the "Caribbean Writers Summer Institute, hosted by the University of Miami English Department, during the summer in Miami, Florida from 1991 through 1996. Each year the program arranged public readings and interviews at a variety of locations in Miami." Videos may be browsed by subject, date, speaker, and program. The Real Media streaming client is required to view the readings and interviews. A free version can be downloaded. Detailed metadata and a summary is included for each presentation.
Streaming Contemporary Latinx Drama
Includes a selection of freely available videos of 21st Century Latinx drama. Also provides a section of those available for a limited time or password protected. Finally, it briefly lists some video drama productions from the 20th Century. Compiled by Brian Herrera (Associate Professor of Theatre, Princeton University) with additional contributions by Beto O’Byrne and other members of the Latina/o/x theatre community, beginning on 3/14/2020
Literary Adaptions of Spanish Novels. Produced by TVE (Spanish TV)
You can find additional TV series in the Series de Televisión Española website.
Based on the novel by Blasco Ibáñez. Includes access to the entire series (9 episodes)
Adapted from the novel of the same title by Miguel Delibes. Directed by Josefina Molina. Includes access to the entire series (5 episodes)
Fortunata y Jacinta
Based on the novel with the same title by Benito Pérez Galdós. Includes access to the entire series (10 episodes)
Los Gozos y las Sombras
Spanish TV series produced by TVE. Adaption of Gonzalo Torrente Ballester's trilogy by its same title. Includes access to the entire series (13 episodes)
Los Pazos de Ulloa
Adaption of Emilia Pardo Bazán's naturalist novel. Directed by Gonzalo Suárez. Includes access to the entire series (4 episodes)
La Plaza del Diamante
Adaptaton of 20th century novel by Merçé Rododera. Directed by Francesc Betriu. Includes access to the entire series (4 episodes)
TV series based on the first part of the novel "Don Quixote of La Mancha". Directed by Manuel Gutiérrez Aragón. Includes access to the entire series (5 episodes)
Based on the 19th century novel with the same title by Leopoldo Alas Clarín. Adapted by director Méndez-Leite. Includes access to the entire series (3 episodes)