Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Sciences (General)
Cientistas Sociais de Países de Língua Portuguesa: Histórias de Vida
This audiovisual project, initiated in 2007 by several Lusophone research institutions, includes interviews with social scientists from Lusophone countries. Video interviews can be browsed by country: Brazil, Portugal, and Mozambique. Transcripts and biographical information are provided for each interview. Access to specific segments within each video is also available.
Web platform that provides access to audiovisual content related to the social sciences and humanities. Initiative promoted by the Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO) in association with the Organization of Ibero-American States (OEI). It provides access to interviews, documentaries, and other audiovisual resources - including recordings of academic events organized by CLACSO. It presents their own productions but also some by other agencies, channels and portals focusing on contemporary social issues from a critical point of view. Videos can be browsed by broad categories (interviews, conferences, etc.) Search results may be sorted by newest titles, date of production, alphabetical order by title, and tags. They are also searchable by performing a simple keyword search. Each online video is described by brief metadata, may include a brief summary of its content, and can be shared via social media.
Online Indigenous Film Festival (OIFF)
The countries from Latin America and the Caribbean together with UNESCO launched this Online Indigenous Film Festival (OIFF) within the context of the International Year of Indigenous Languages 2019 (IYIL2019). Available via Youtube.
Politics & Society
Hemispheric Institute Digital Video Library
This digital library is a collaboration project "between New York University Libraries and NYU's Hemispheric Institute of Performance and Politics [that] provides a digital venue for documenting the expression of social and political life through performance in the many cultures and political landscapes of the Americas." Browse by collections and search capabilities are available. Results can be refined by subjects, type of performance, and keyword tags.
Migration Studies and U.S.-Mexico Border
Case Study: HIV Prevention on the U.S.-Mexico Border
Video channel created in Vimeo by AIDSTAR-One, the United States Agency for International Development's (USAID) global HIV project.
"Community based digital storytelling project that documents the human consequences of mass deportation. Since early 2017, with funding from various grants, and institutional sponsorships from both UC Davis and four Mexican partner institutions, our teams in six Mexican cities and California have offered a platform for migrants to share personal experiences regarding deportation on our bilingual open access website." According to its website: "It is the world’s most robust public qualitative archive on deportation."
"The Invisibles" is a project of Mexican actor Gael García Bernal and director Marc Silver with the collaboration of Amnesty International
. These four short movies follow the journey of those migrants across Mexico that head for the US border. Filmed in Mexico and El Salvador.
US-Mexico Crossborder Relations -University of California TV
Includes programs broadcasted in the University of California TV channel about US-Mexico crossborder relations. Programs can be watched online and/or listened as podcasts.