Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History & Politics
La Transición Española
This documentary series portrays the events that happened in Spain between the assassination of the Franquist President, Carrero Blanco, in 1973, until the first democratic suffrage in 1977. Produced by TVE (Spanish Television). Includes access to the entire series (13 episodes)
Spanish Civil War Memory Project. Audiovisual Archive of the Francoist Repression
It includes "audiovisual testimonies of militants, witnesses, and victims of the Spanish Civil War and the Francoist repression." An initiative of UC San Diego in collaboration with several Spanish civic associations.
La Guerra Filmada
A Documentary series (7 episodes) that includes images filmed during the Spanish Civil War. Material provided by the National Film Library. Hosted by the Sanish Radio & Television Website.
Portal de Recursos Audiovisuales sobre la Transición Española
This portal organizes audiovisual content available on the Internet about Spain's transition period to democray. Most of the videos are clips available in youtube but a few full-length films are also included. The portal is divided in five sections: "Fechas de Memoria" includes clips of specific historical events, "Cine" provides an overview of films produced during this period, "Television" presents a selection of TV videos (including programs, series and commercials), "Cultura Popular" features videos related to popular culture such as music, sports and popular movements, and "Miradas" offers a selection of audiovisual works (both film and TV productions) that were created after the transition period but focus on it as the main theme. Developed by the research group TECMERIN of the University Carlos III in Madrid.
Televisión Española (TVE). Spanish Public TV
Archivo de RTVE
Digital archive of the public Spanish Radio and Television (RTVE). It includes videos related to news, cinema, music, sports, and more.
TVE a la Carta
Includes a selection of TV programs produced by TVE. Browsable alphabetically by title and also by topics such as "documentaries", "news", and "series".
Additional Specialized Video Webpages
This website is specialized in contemporary independent Spanish Latin American cinema. Only part of its catalog is available for free. It facilitates streaming access to films that have emerged outside conventional Spanish cinematography. It also hosts the Márgenes Online Film Festival and films series devoted to an specific topic or director. Detailed information is presented for each film, including reviews and other texts related to the work. Most of the films are in Spanish or in another of the official languages in Spain. English subtitles are provided for those in other languages. Films searchable by keywords. Created by the production company River Lab.
PLAT Plataforma de Difusión e Investigación Audiovisual
An online film archive that provides free and legal access to +150 Spanish films. An initiative by Kinora, a NGO that promotes audiovisual literacy. Feature and short films are browsable by keyword, creator, year, genre, and tags. Platform launched in April 2013.
NO-DO (Noticiarios y Documentales)
This website provides full access to all the newsreels produced by this state-controlled service created under the dictatorship of Francisco Franco in Spain. It covers the period 1943-1981. Online videos are searchable by date and keyword. They can also be explored by decade and by tags of popular topics. Once a video is played, individual segments can be directly selected. A brief textual description of its content is provided. Videos can be shared via social media platforms. Created by Filmoteca Española and RTVE (Spanish Radio and Television Corporation).
Spain in European Online Video Collections
European digital library including videos among other digital resources. Limit by video is possible but only after a search is performed. You can click on "Type of Media", then select "video". Offers videos related to Spain and also Catalonia from various sources in Europe.