Welcome to the Libraries!
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
An expansive index to the world’s life sciences journal literature, covering topics ranging from botany to microbiology to pharmacology.
Search precisely using key terms and controlled terminology in context using fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data. Available through Web of Science. Covers 1969-present.
Find articles from academic journals and business magazines, as well as company profiles, market research, SWOT analyses, and industry reports.
Find abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
Find full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
Find abstracts and citations to international literature in all aspects of the study of language (including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics) and linguistics (including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics).
Find articles and book chapters from physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Find full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Find bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Find abstracting and indexing of sociology, covering journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.
Find news from U.S. and international newspapers, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, and blogs, as well as business profiles, patents, legal research, biography, medicine, and reference. A Source List is available for viewing.
Interdisciplinary subject searching of scholarly articles in the social sciences, physical & life sciences, and arts & humanities. Search for articles that cite known journal articles or books.
This Library Guide seeks to support students, researchers and instructors to discover resources, services and research for Psychology, Education Psychology and related subjects. Ultimately, the hope is that this guide will assist in identifying and gathering useful constructs and tools to encourage learning and facilitate ease in the research process. The guide is designed to offer beginning points for research and promote access to subject specific library resources and other orientation resources for both undergraduate and graduate students. Library Guides allow librarians to add more detail and complexity than can be hosted on the subject gateway pages.
Psychology is a very interdisciplinary field and depending on the topic you choose, it will be useful to also consult other potentially relevant pages such as Social Welfare, Education, Sociology, Women's Studies and others by searching Research by Subject. This is where the Psychology Library Gateway page is listed.
Books and journal articles for the study of psychology can be found in all of the three of campus libraries. The focus of this guide is to share information on relevant research whether in electronic or print format. This guide includes sources and collections that are cross-disciplinary in nature but are used primarily in the field of psychology. Resources cited here may be found in any of the three campus libraries or available electronically either through U Albany NetId and password or freely available through the Internet.
Electronic and print psychology related reference sources are available online or in print in the University Library (uptown campus) (ULIB), the Science Library (uptown), or the (downtown) Dewey Library. It is important to know that for the uptown campus, psychology books and print journals are divided by call number classification ranges and placed in either the Main or Science Libraries. For example, books with call numbers beginning with BF are found in the University Library (ULIB), whereas books beginning with the call number classification RC will be found in the Science Library (Science). The Dewey Library on the downtown campus could have books with both BF and RC call numbers.
Print resources cited here are located in the University Library unless the Science Library or the Dewey Library is indicated after the call number. Examples of monographs and other media have also been provided to exemplify a variety of formats and interdisciplinary themes in psychology and education psychology.
