Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

United States Government Information by Subject: Women's Suffrage .gov

Resources for locating information from the federal government

Women's Suffrage .gov

image of Women Marching in Suffragette Parade, Washington, DC (no date) from the National Archives

This guide collates materials found on federal and some New York State agency websites relating to women's suffrage in the United States. While these materials are not official public documents, they are primary sources, both text and image, that chronicle our nation's history. The bulk of these historical records are maintained by two federal agencies, the Library of Congress and the National Archives and Records Administration (National Archives). The image here, Women Marching in Suffragette Parade, Washington, DC (no date), is from the National Archives.

This guide also provides links to government agency websites that offer synopses of and guides to the movement for women's suffrage in the United States and New York State. Links to primary sources are often embedded within these websites.

Official public documents are not included in this guide. The Congressional Record  and earlier Congressional debates going back to 1789 are searchable at Library of Congress or the database HeinOnline. The website govinfo.gov also has the Congressional Record back to 1873. Identify other Congressional documents and reports in the database HeinOnline, the website HathiTrust.org, or the print Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications, located in the Government Documents collection in the University Library: GovDoc J 85 GP 3.8/8:. 

Primary Source Fascimiles on Agency Websites

Digital Collections on Agency Websites

Synopses & Guides on Agency Websites

Online Guides to Archival Collections Held by Government Agencies

New York State .gov

Reference & Gov't Information Librarian

Profile Photo
Karina Ricker
Contact:
UAlbany, University Library #208
(518)442-3629
Social: Twitter Page

More government information from other libraries

NYS Association Opposed to Woman Suffrage