Find a summary of statistics on social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Tip: The latest year is displayed. Click on the dropdown menu in the upper left to choose another year.
The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including unintentional injuries and violence, sexual behaviors related to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, HIV infection, alcohol and other drug use, tobacco use, unhealthy dietary behaviors, inadequate physical activity. It also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma and other health-related behaviors plus sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts.
PubMed is a database of citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, and reports in the area of biomedical and life sciences and, additionally, general sciences and chemistry. Journal article citations go back to the 1940s. The largest subset of citations within PubMed is called MEDLINE, a database of citations from scholarly journals. To search only MEDLINE, either search by MeSH subjects headings/topics or filter your results by the Journal filter of MEDLINE. The University Libraries also subscribe to Medline [via ProQuest], which requires signing on if you are off campus.
Some of the citations for journal articles in PubMed/MEDLINE link to the full text at publisher websites or at PubMed Central. PubMed Central is an open access repository and can be searched separately.
Some of the citations for books, book chapters, and reports in PubMed link to the full text in NCBI Bookshelf. NCBI Bookshelf is an open access repository and can be searched separately.
National Library of Medicine's premier database in the life sciences, with a concentration in biomedicine. Full text for open access journals, and links to full text for journals the University Libraries subscribe to when available.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter your search results to articles that have associated data.
Find citations, with links to full text when available, from thousands of biomedical and life science journals, and indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine controlled vocabulary. Available on the ProQuest platform.
Tip: On this platform, you may filter your search results to Peer-Reviewed articles. Other filters include language, population, and gender.
Search the CDC site or PubMed Central for both of these publications.
