Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents (1993-current)
Official proclamations, executive orders, memorandums, speeches, remarks, press conferences, appointments, press releases released by the White House Press Secretary. This excludes the President's tweets. Accompanying documentation, e.g., maps, may not be included, but may be accessible in the Federal Register. (The Daily Compilation was previously called the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.)
Federal Register (updated daily) (1936-current)
Includes proclamations, executive orders, determinations, letters, memoranda, directives, and reorganization plans. (Proclamations are also printed in the U.S. Statutes at Large. Major proclamations and orders may be printed in the U.S. Code.)
Code of Federal Regulations Title 3 - The President (1997-current)
Title 3 is the collection of signed Presidential documents compiled from the Federal Register. It also includes White House regulations dealing with the conduct of employees of the Executive Office of the President. The Libraries have the print format for 1978-2018 at J 85 AE 2.106/3:3/.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
Editorial codification prepared by the Office of the Federal Register and is not intended to be used as a definitive legal authority. This codification covers the period April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan. The Libraries have the print format at J 85 AE 2.113:945-89.
Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
Online visual, audio, and text-based materials. Includes the papers of many U.S. Presidents. Use the search box in the top right corner of the page.
Public Papers of the Presidents (govinfo.gov)
The Public Papers of the Presidents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and is the official publication of United States Presidents' public writings, addresses, and remarks. The collections goes back to the 30th President, John Calvin Coolidge. During the Carter administration, contents were expanded to include other White House announcements, nominations, and checklist of press releases. The Libraries have the Public Papers in print format, beginning with 1929 at J 80 .A283, as well as indexes in print form for several presidents at J 82.
Presidential Papers at the Library of Congress
Digitized personal and public documents of 23 U.S. presidents from George Washington to Calvin Coolidge.
The Libraries have the following in print format: various editions of the Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (1789-1898) at J 81 .B96; State of the Union Messages of the Presidents (1790-1966) at J 81 .C66. Finding aids for 1789-1941 executive orders are available at GovDoc Ref KF 70.
Directives and Executive Orders (FAS)
Presidential directives related to national security may be difficult to locate, and may possibly be found as far back as 1947 on this site maintained by the Federation of American Scientists.
American Presidency Project (UC Santa Barbara)
Searchable database of presidential documents, including unofficial versions of Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1929; Public Papers of the Presidents, 1929-; Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, 1977-2009; Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, post-2009.
Reference & Gov't Information Librarian