LibGuides: United States Government Information by Subject: Maps

Maps & Statistics

GeoFRED
Geographical economic data.
National Geologic Map Database
Archive of standardized geoscience infomation for the nation
National Map
Topographic information, including some resources formerly provided by The National Atlas of the United States, which ceased in 2014.
U.S. Census Bureau Geography Program
Geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps
USGS Publications Warehouse
Index to official, USGS-authored publications. Not all citations include links to full-text. Also includes citations to non-government publications.

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a fully web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) and mapping product. Data includes demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, school performance scores and labor data like unemployment, crime statistics and city crime rates. A complete list of GIS data available can be found in their data directory.

General Land Office (GLO) Records Automated Records Project
From the Bureau of Land Management, a database of patents, survey plats, field notes, and land status records for the Public Land States issued between 1788 and the present.
Historical Topographic Map Collection (USGS)
More than 178,000 historical topographic maps of the United States
Library of Congress Digital Maps Search
Use the Date and Location facets on the left to find the map you are looking for.
Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection (NOAA)
Covers the land and waters of the U.S., including territories and possessions (past and present). The images are free to download. Includes the charts and maps from the annual Report of the Superintendent of the Coast Survey.