Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Data & Research
access to air pollution data.
Launched 11/2016 by the U. of Pennsylvania, preserves federal data related to climate and environment
ECHO - Enforcement and Compliance History Online
ECHO reports provide a snapshot of a facility’s environmental record, showing dates and types of violations, as well as the state or federal government’s response. ECHO reports also contain demographic information from the National Census. EPA, state and local environmental agencies, and the facilities collect/report the data that are submitted to EPA databases.
This website provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
HERO - Health and Environmental Research Online
The database includes more than 300,000 scientific articles from the peer-reviewed literature used by EPA to develop its Integrated Science Assessments (ISA) that feed into the NAAQS review. It also includes references and data from the Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), a database that supports critical agency policymaking for chemical regulation.
OER Video Portal -- Ocean Exploration & Research
Database of underwater videos that is searchable by observation dates, depth range, video type, camera location, dive site, or cruise.
Toxics Release Inventory
Toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by industries and federal facilities
U.S. Energy Information Administration -
Energy-related emissions data & environmental analyses.
Environmental Impact Statements
EISs on Hathi Trust
Northwestern University Transportation Library collects EISs dating to 1970, although they do not own every EIS. Over 33K full text reports were digitized and are available in HathiTrust. Those not available in Hathi Trust can be requested from the Transportation Library through UAlbany's Interlibrary Loan Dept.
EISs Database at EPA
The EPA's database contains full text reports received by the agency since 2012. It also includes EPA comment letters since 2001, and records for EISs received since 1987.
Reference & Gov't Information Librarian
Enter a location such as an address, ZIP, city, or place name to get maps and environmental information in your location