Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Nanoscale Science & Engineering: A Guide to Web Resources: News & Webcasts

News & Webcasts

ACS Nanotation

From the American Chemical Society, the goal of ACS Nanotation is to be "the premiere destination for nanoscience and nanotechnology news and highlights." It includes Nano Picks (commentary and reviews of the most important findings), Ask the Scientist forum, ACS Journals in Focus (links to the latest articles in ACS journals), Multimedia (podcasts, images, and videos), and a Wiki for collaboration. Access is free, but registration is required to search for other users, submit videos and images, and edit the Wiki.

ACS Webinars

Developed by the American Chemical Society, ACS Webinars contain archived video presentations by subject matter experts.  There are 4 channels:  career, professional growth, business & innovation, and joy of science.  By joining an email list, you will be notified of and can attend new live webinars.

Laser Focus World

This resource provides news, trends, and in-depth coverage of optoelectronic and photonic technologies and applications.  There are also educational webcasts.

Materials Connections: News from the World of Materials

From the Materials Research Society, this Web site provides the latest news, information, developments, and applications from the field of materials.

Materials Views

Developed by Wiley, Materials Views is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in materials science (chemistry and physics). By scanning the current materials science literature, Materials Views finds and posts summaries of the latest developments. The site can be browsed by channel (nano, soft matter, energy, health & biomed, surfaces, etc.), by material (biomaterials, carbon, nanoparticles, semiconductors, composites, etc.), or searched by keyword. RSS feeds are available.

MEMS Clearinghouse: News

This site contains recent news on micro-electro-mechanical systems from the MEMS Clearinghouse.

Nano SCENE

From the American Chemical Society's Chemical & Engineering News, this resource provides up-to-the-minute news about nanoscience and nanotechnology, including coverage of nanofabrication and assembly, characterization of nanostructures, bionanotechnology, organic and inorganic nanomaterials, and nanodevices.

Nanotechnology by IEEE Spectrum

From the IEEE, this site contains the latest nanotechnology news and commentary, along with access to webinars and articles in IEEE journals and magazines. 

NanoTechWeb.org: Tech Update

From the IOP, this is a nanotechnology news site that is continually updated.

Physics

Physics is an online publication from the American Physical Society (APS). Its goal is to highlight selected articles published in APS publications, and to offer expert commentary. Physics has 3 types of entries: "Viewpoints discuss and explain a particular article's findings in a manner accessible to all physicists. Trends cover a recent body of work in a specific field, but also look ahead to the challenges and questions that fascinate that field's top researchers. Synopses summarize articles that merit wider attention among physicists in all fields."

Physics News Update

Physics News Update is a digest of news items from meetings, journals, newspapers, magazines, and other news sources. It is compiled by the AIP and updated weekly.

physicsworld.com

From the Institute of Physics, physicsworld.com contains continually updated news and other features.

PhysOrg.com:  Nanotechnology

This resource provides comprehensive coverage of nanotechnoogy news from major news services, universities, and private research centers.  PhysOrg.com also contains news coverage of other science, technology, and medical subjects.  RSS feeds and social networking tools are available.  

Science Elements

From the American Chemical Society (ACS), Science Elements offers brief webcasts on cutting-edge discoveries described in ACS journals. In addition to chemistry, ACS journals cover topics in fields like medicine, health, nutrition, energy, and the environment.

ScienceCinema
ScienceCinema uses innovative audio indexing and speech recognition technology to help locate videos produced by the U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories and research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise video segments where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can select and play the video segments. Currently, there are current over 3,000 speech-indexed videos in the collection.
 
SciVee
The goal of SciVee is to advance the dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge by making research more visible.  Researchers can promote their work by uploading video presentations that serve as more approachable guides to their research.  SciVee offers the capability to synchronize video with text-based documents.  This capability can be used to create PubCasts, PosterCasts, PaperCasts, and SlideCasts.  SciVee is searchable and can be browsed by broad subject.
 
Semiconductor Fabtech

Semiconductor Fabtech is a current awareness resource that provides access to breaking news in the semiconductor/integrated circuit industry.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943