Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Statistical Resources
The University Libraries' Electronic Reference collection contains links to subscription databases and free internet resources containing statistical information. Access the collection.
Data | The World Bank
The World Bank database includes World Development Indicators (WDI) -- one of the world’s most reliable and comprehensive databases on developing economies--, Doing Business, and many others.
The following is a sample of materials containing statistical information about countries. Consult the appropriate sections for information on India. Books can be found in the Reference Area of the University Library:
- FAO Statistical Yearbook. Rome: Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, 2004-. The FAO Statistical Yearbook provides a selection of indicators on food and agriculture by country. [ULIB Ref HD 1421 F587X]
- Human Development Reports. New York: United Nations Development Programme. Global reports provide statistics covering several composite indices for human development around the world. Each report focuses on a current development theme. [ULIB Ref HD 72 H85X] Global, regional and national Human Development Reports are also available online.
- Demographic Yearbook. New York: Dept. of Economic and Social Affairs, Statistical Office, United Nations. This reference work presents statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. It also includes some special topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language. [ULIB Ref HA 17 D45] Also available online.
- World Bank Data. The World Bank site allows the user to create and download reports containing country statistical information on education, demographics, health, education, environment, economics. politics and more.
Reference Sources--Region Specific
- Human Development Reports. From the United Nations, Human Development Reports provide data and analysis regarding economic, social, political, and cultural factors that shape a region. Many of the available reports about India are for specific regions within the country. From the site, select India in the drop-down menu.
- World Bank Data The World Bank site allows creation of reports covering literacy, life expectancy, political participation, environmental factors and more.
- International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005. Brian Mitchell. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. [ULIB Ref HA 4675 M552 2007 ]
- Asian Marketing Data and Statistics. London : Euromonitor International, 2008. Provides demographics, economic indicators, labor data, consumer information and more for Asian countries. [ULIB Ref HF 5415.12 A78 A85X]
- Asia-Pacific in Figures. New York : United Nations, Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 2006. Provides selected socio-economic indicators on population; health, education and culture; national accounts and prices; trade; transport and tourism; finance; labor force and production; natural resources and environment; and development. [ULIB Ref HA 4551 A85X]
- Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific. Bangkok: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, 2008. [ULIB Ref HC 411 U4 A23]
- Statistical Yearbook for Asia and the Pacific. Bangkok: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, United Nations, 2007. Contains statistical data on the social economic and environmental development of the Asian and Pacific region from 1990 forward. [ULIB Ref HC 411 A1 U56X]. An online version is also available.
- Statistical Abstract, India. Delhi: Manager of Publications, 2006. [ULIB Ref HA 1713 A732] Also available online from the Indian Ministry of Statistics. Data is free, but the site requires registration. http://www.mospi.gov.in/mospi_cso_rept_pubn.htm