Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Book
India Today by
Call Number: University Library Reference DS 428.2 I535 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-23
240 A-Z entries on the social, political, cultural, and economic development of India since 1947.
The dictionaries listed below are a small sample of what is available in the collection of the University Libraries. Use the online catalog linked on the left to find more. Also see the general geographical dictionaries found in the research guide for Geography. Please note that call numbers beginning with the REF prefix are in the Reference Area of the University Library and those without the prefix are located in the stacks.
- Historical and Cultural Dictionary of India, by George Thomas Kurian. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1976. [DS 405 K87]
- Sahibs, Nabobs, and Boxwallahs: A Dictionary of the Words of Anglo-Indian, by Ivor Lewis., by Susan Mayhew. Delhi: Oxford University Press, 1992. Provides the sources and etymologies of the words of modern and historical Anglo-Indian usage. [REF PE 3502 I64 L49 1992]
- Dictionary of Indian History, by Sachchidananda Bhattacharya. New York: G. Braziller, 1967. [REF DS 433 B48 1967B]
- Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary, edited by R.S. McGregor. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1993. Covers the modern standardized language. [REF PK 1936 M34 1993]
- Students’ Favourite Dictionary: English-to-Bengali & English, by Ashu Tosh Dev. [REF PK 1687 D45 1970]
- English-Marathi Dictionary, by Ramesh V. Dhongde. [PK 2375 D46X 1997]
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of India, Stanley A. Wolpert, editor in chief. Detroit: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2006. Four volume set with entries covering the diverse history, politics, people, religions, and culture of India. [REF DS 405 E556 2006]
India 2001: Reference Encyclopedia. Bangalore: MERMAID Center ; Indmark Publishing, 1995- Entries cover 5000 years of Indian history, religion, philosophy, culture, and more. [REF DS 423 I63X]
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives, editor, Francis Robinson. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1989. Provides information on the history, geography, climate, demography, politics and foreign relations, economy and development, education, health, laws, language, art, and traditions of these countries. [DS 334.9 C36 1989]
India: A Global Studies Handbook,
editor Fritz Blackwell. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2004. Narrative sections detailing the geography, history, economics, and contemporary culture of India. Detailed references on languages, listings of government and nongovernment organizations, and an annotated bibliography for further research. This resource is part of the ABC-CLIO eBOOK Collection.