Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Prospective Graduate Student Resources
Welcome! This page contains information for students considering graduate school. Test preparation books and practice tests are available for the GRE and MCAT, among others.
GRE Test Prep Books
Cracking the GRE Premium Edition with 6 Practice Tests 2020 by Cracking the GRE Premium Edition, 2020, provides students with a thorough review of all GRE topics; practice questions with detailed answer explanations; key strategies for solving Text Completions, Sentence Equivalents, Numeric Entry, and Quantitative Comparisons; and much more. Purchase of the Premium Edition also includes access to additional practice tests and extra test strategies, review, and practice through our Premium Portal online.
Publication Date: 2019-05-21
GRE for Dummies with Online Practice Tests by Take the guesswork out of the GRE The Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) is a standardized test that is an admissions requirement for most graduate schools in the United States. The GRE aims to measure verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, analytical writing, and critical thinking skills that have been acquired over a long period of time and that are not related to any specific field of study. GRE For Dummies with Online Practice provides updated resources and preparation strategies to help you score your very best on exam day. So, grab a pen, paper, or your electronic device and get started now! Use trusted strategies to score your highest on the exam Master verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, and analytical writing sections of the GRE Prepare for the big day by answering sample questions and taking practice exams Get one-year access to six practice tests online It's never been easier or more efficient to prep for the GRE!
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
101 Ways to Score Higher on Your GRE by 101 Ways to Score Higher on Your GRE is filled with practice questions and reviews of test topics, including antonyms, analogies, sentence completion, reading comprehension, vocabulary, analytical writing, quantitative comparisons, data interpretation, and math concepts. Additionally, you will be provided with a comprehensive vocabulary list. Some of the strategies you will learn include how to solve analogies when you do not know the meaning of the words and how to solve algebra problems by plugging in numbers in place of variables. Every year more than 350,000 people take the Graduate Record Exam, more commonly known as the GRE. Approximately 60 percent of graduate programs require applicants to take the GRE, making it necessary to get a good score. An average score on the GRE is around 500 on the verbal and quantitative sections and a four on the writing section. How can you boost your score and ensure acceptance into the graduate program of your choice? Reading 101 Ways to Score Higher on Your GRE and using the techniques provided within is one way to do so. In this new book, you will learn about and understand the scoring system, as well as the computerized format and the content. You will learn how to read questions correctly, control your anxiety, and approach each section. In addition, you will be presented with a list of resources to help you prepare and dozens of proven strategies, mindsets. Atlantic Publishing is a small, independent publishing company based in Ocala, Florida. Founded over twenty years ago in the company presidentâe(tm)s garage, Atlantic Publishing has grown to become a renowned resource for non-fiction books. Today, over 450 titles are in print covering subjects such as small business, healthy living, management, finance, careers, and real estate. Atlantic Publishing prides itself on producing award winning, high-quality manuals that give readers up-to-date, pertinent information, real-world examples, and case studies with expert advice. Every book has resources, contact information, and web sites of the products or companies discussed.
Publication Date: 2009-09-04
Cracking the GRE Mathematics Subject Test by THE PRINCETON REVIEW GETS RESULTS. Getting a high score on the GRE Mathematics Subject Test isn't about memorizing everything there is to know about math-it's about targeting your test preparation. We teach you only the information you'll need along with the best strategies for the test day. Within this book, you'll find practical information on the what, when, where, and how of the exam, as well as subject reviews for all potential topics, including precalculus, calculus I and II, differential equations, linear algebra, number theory, and more. Techniques That Actually Work. * Preparation strategies and test-taking techniques to help you reach your top score * Shortcuts and strategies to speed up pacing and increase accuracy * Clear diagrams to acclimate you to three-dimensional coordinate problems Practice Your Way to Excellence. * 1 full-length practice test to familiarize you with the quirks and patterns of the GRE Mathematics Subject Test * Over 150 guided practice problems that directly demonstrate key strategies for dealing with tricky topics from trigonometric functions to double integrals, homomorphisms, and complex logarithms * Over 200 drill questions for independent practice, with thorough explanations to help provide total content mastery
Publication Date: 2010-02-23
GRE 4000 by The 4000 Words Essential for the GRE. The verbal section of the GRE is essentially a vocabulary test. With a few exceptions, if you know the word, you will probably be able to answer the question correctly. Thus, it is crucial that you improve your vocabulary. Even if you have a strong vocabulary, you will still encounter unfamiliar words on the GRE. Many students write off questions, which contain words, they don't recognize. This is a mistake. This book introduces numerous techniques that decode unfamiliar words and prod your memory of words you only half-remember. With these techniques, you will often be able to squeeze out enough meaning from an unfamiliar word to answer a question correctly. Nevertheless, don't rely on just these techniques-you must study word lists. Obviously, you cannot attempt to memorize the dictionary, and you don't need to. The GRE tests a surprisingly limited number of words, and this book has 4000 prime candidates. Granted, memorizing a list of words is rather dry, but it is probably the most effective way of improving your performance on the verbal section. All the words you need for success on the GRE! Features: * Word Analysis section * Sentence Completion section * 200 Prefixes, Roots, and Suffixes * Concise, practical definitions
Publication Date: 2018-03-01
UAlbany Resources Including Free Practice Tests
Other Test Prep Resources
MCAT Test Prep Books
Princeton Review MCAT Prep, 2021-2022 by ESSENTIAL SUBJECT REVIEW FOR YOUR TOP MCAT SCORE. This comprehensive, all-in-one resource preparesyou for the MCAT with in-depth content reviews, test-conquering strategies, a tear-out "cheat sheet" reference guide, and 4 full-length online practice exams for total test preparation. Walk into test day with confidence, armed with this resource designed to prepare you for MCAT scoring success. The Princeton Review MCAT Prep provides unparalleled MCAT content coverage, including- .Detailed coverage of MCAT test essentials, plus topic-by-topic subject reviews for Organic Chemistry, General Chemistry, CARS (Critical Analysis and Reasoning), Biology, Biochemistry, Physics & Math, and Psychology & Sociology . Specific strategies for tackling every question type . A full-color, 16-page tear-out reference guide with all the most important formulas, diagrams, information, concepts, and charts for every MCAT section . Tons of illustrations, diagrams, and tables . A comprehensive index PLUS! Access to 4 full-length practice exams with detailed answer explanations online
Publication Date: 2021-03-23
Barron's MCAT by The MCAT as it is now given is a solely computer-based exam, and Barron's brand-new edition of the MCAT manual offers test preparation that is specifically focused to respond to that format. The manual's introduction presents a detailed overview of the test, and follows with strategies for study, stress management, and test taking. The bulk of this book is given over to extensive reviews in science and math, followed by advice on writing the MCAT essay. Four full-length model MCATs are then presented with answer keys and answer explanations.
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
MCAT Premier Program 2008-2009 by Includes: Full-length practice MCAT with detailed explanations 2 full-length verbal reasoning tests Complete Science Review Effective tips and strategies CD-ROM with practice questions and flashcards 4-color illustrations featuring charts, graphs, and diagrams of the most-tested material
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
McGraw-Hill's New MCAT by This title is more focused and student-friendly than competing MCAT guides. It has more special features - including a companion CD with two full-length, timed practice MCATs and free website support. There is more bang for the buck - this is a complete all-in-one preparation package for the 60,000 students who take the MCAT every year.
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The best test preparation for the MCAT, Medical College Admission Test by Master the MCAT! Our medical test experts show you how to pass the test and score higher. Our newly updated 4th edition combines advanced practice with powerhouse strategies so the student is prepared for every question type on the MCAT. Features 5 comprehensive reviews and 6 full-length practice exams that cover the entire scope of the MCAT. Comprehensive explanations for all exam questions. Follow up your study with REA's powerhouse test-taking strategies and study schedule that get you ready for test day. REA's CD-ROM software offers two full-length, timed, computerized exams that give you the closest thing to experiencing a live exam at a testing center. System Requirements: CPU: 75 MHz Pentium or compatible. 300MHz or higher recommended. Operating System: Windows 98, Me, 2000 and XP. RAM: 64MB available minimum 100 MB Hard Disk space available Additional Software: Internet Explorer 5.5
Publication Date: 2004-02-23
The MCAT Physics Book by Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for MCAT Physics. The MCAT Physics Book offers the most comprehensive and rigorous analysis of MCAT physics available. Including, * 49 MCAT-style passages * 500 MCAT-style practice problems! and detailed solutions to all problems Illustrations and tables are included wherever necessary to focus and clarify key ideas and concepts. Dr. Biehle's classic MCAT Physics Book presents a clear, insightful analysis of MCAT physics. His lively prose and subtle wit make this challenging topic more palatable. Dr. Biehle received his Ph.D. from Caltech (California Institute of Technology) in physics. He has ten years experience at various levels in science education. The MCAT Physics Book is a result of his experience presenting physics concepts in a classroom setting to students preparing for the MCAT.
Publication Date: 2016-07-19
The MCAT Chemistry Book by Comprehensive, Rigorous Prep for MCAT Chemistry. The MCAT Chemistry Book presents a comprehensive review of general chemistry and organic chemistry to prepare for the Medical College Admission Test. With this and its two companion volumes, The MCAT Physics Book and The MCAT Biology Book, Nova Press provides the most comprehensive series of test-prep books for the MCAT. In this book, Part I presents general chemistry concepts, and Part II presents organic chemistry concepts. The review sections are written in a user-friendly manner to simplify and reduce the student's burden when deciphering difficult concepts. At the end of each chapter, practice questions are included to test the understanding of the key concepts. Answers and explanations for the practice questions are provided after the review sections. Illustrations and tables are included wherever necessary to focus and clarify key ideas and concepts.
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Kaplan MCAT Biochemistry Review by The MCAT is changing in 2015. With the addition of three semesters' worth of material, more advanced critical thinking skills, a longer duration, and changes in Biochemistry content, the new exam requires even more diligent prep with resources from Kaplan Test Prep. Kaplan's MCAT Biochemistry Review offers: UNPARALLELED MCAT 2015 KNOWLEDGE: The Kaplan MCAT team has spent years studying every document related to MCAT 2015 available. In conjunction with our expert psychometricians, the Kaplan team is able to ensure the accuracy and realism of our practice materials. THOROUGH SUBJECT REVIEW: Written by top-rated, award-winning Kaplan instructors. All material has been vetted by editors with advanced science degrees and by a medical doctor. NEW PRACTICE QUESTIONS THROUGHOUT: Brand-new end-of-chapter questions and the introduction of Interactive Concept Checks, which allow students to identify their strengths and areas of opportunity in real time. MORE PRACTICE THAN THE COMPETITION: With questions throughout the book and access to three full-length practice sections, Kaplan's MCAT Biochemistry Review has more practice than any other MCAT Biochemistry book on the market. ONLINE COMPANION: Access to online resources to augment content studying, including three full-length practice sections. The MCAT is a computer-based test, so practicing in the same format as Test Day is key. TOP-QUALITY IMAGES: With dozens of new images and full-color, 3-D illustrations, charts, graphs and diagrams from the pages of Scientific American, Kaplan's MCAT Biochemistry Review turns even the most intangible, complex science into easy-to-visualize concepts. KAPLAN'S MCAT REPUTATION: Kaplan gets more people into medical school than all other courses, combined. UTILITY: Can be used alone or with other companion books in Kaplan's MCAT Review series.
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Kaplan MCAT Biology Review by The MCAT is changing in 2015. With the addition of three semesters' worth of material, more advanced critical thinking skills, a longer duration, and changes in Biology content, the new exam requires even more diligent prep with resources from Kaplan Test Prep. Kaplan's MCAT Biology Review offers: UNPARALLELED MCAT 2015 KNOWLEDGE: The Kaplan MCAT team has spent years studying every document related to MCAT 2015 available. In conjunction with our expert psychometricians, the Kaplan team is able to ensure the accuracy and realism of our practice materials. THOROUGH SUBJECT REVIEW: Written by top-rated, award-winning Kaplan instructors. All material has been vetted by editors with advanced science degrees and by a medical doctor. NEW PRACTICE QUESTIONS THROUGHOUT: Brand-new end-of-chapter questions and the introduction of Concept Checks, which allow students to identify their strengths and areas of opportunity in real time. MORE PRACTICE THAN THE COMPETITION: With questions throughout the book and at the end of every chapter, Kaplan's MCAT Biology Review has more practice than any other MCAT Biology book on the market. TOP-QUALITY IMAGES: With dozens of new images and full-color, 3-D illustrations, charts, graphs and diagrams from the pages of Scientific American, Kaplan's MCAT Biology Review turns even the most intangible, complex science into easy-to-visualize concepts. KAPLAN'S MCAT REPUTATION: Kaplan gets more people into medical school than all other courses, combined. UTILITY: Can be used alone or with other companion books in Kaplan's MCAT Review series.
Publication Date: 2014-07-01