Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Physics: A Brief Guide to Library Resources: Databases & Indexes

Databases & Indexes

INSPEC.
The INSPEC database provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of physics, electronics, and computing from 1968 forward for journal articles, reports, books, dissertations, patents, and conference papers.
 
INSPEC Training Videos.
Developed by the the IET (the producers of INSPEC), these training videos include an introduction and overview of the database; content and subject coverage; specialized subject indexing; and details on author, company, and conference searching.
 
arXiv.org e-Print Archive. 
arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers, covering physics and related disciplines.
 
SPIE Digital Library

The SPIE Digital Library contains an extensive research collection on optics and photonics from 11 peer-reviewed journals and over 8,000 conference proceedings. More than 18,000 conference papers and journals articles are added each year.

INSPIRE.
Compiled by the labs at CERN, DESY, Fermilab and SLAC, this database covers high-energy physics including journal articles, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses. It is based on SPIRES, and contains records from 1974 forward.
 
Atomic Transition Probability Bibliographic Database

Interactive database with references on atomic transition probabilities (oscillator strengths, line strengths, & radiative lifetimes); both theoretical and experimental papers are listed.

Nuclear Science References (NSR)

NSR contains references to low and intermediate energy physics research publications spanning nearly 100 years. Searchable by nuclide, target, incident particle, outgoing particle, reaction, author, keynumber list, subject, or quantity.

Web of Science.
Produced by Thomson Reuters, Web of Science indexes the contents of over 12,000 "high impact" journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.  In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct author searches to determine who has cited an author's works.  Coverage begins with 1993.

Additional physics databases & indexes.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943