Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Computer Science: A Guide to Web Resources: Courses, Tutorials, & Lectures

Best Bets

MIT OpenCourseWare: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Lecture notes, problem sets, and other course materials are posted on this Massachusetts Institute of Technology Website. Courses are listed by title; both undergraduate and graduate course are covered.

Codeacademy

Codeacademy is an interactive, online learning environment to learn coding.  Its current offerings include JavaScript, Python, Web fundamentals, JQuery, Web technologies (code year), and other "non-track" courses.

Coursera
Online courses in many subjects offered by Universities around the world.

edX
Computer science courses offered online, some by Universities such as Harvard and MIT, for a fee.

Khan Academy:  Computer Science

Among the thousands of educational videos in the Khan Academy are several videos dealing with introductory programming and computer science topics.  

Udemy
Over 100,000 courses offered in many subjects, usually for around $10 each.

W3 Schools

W3 Schools contains an extensive set of tutorials for Web development. It includes in-depth tutorials on all the major technologies including HTML, XHTML, CSS, TCP/IP, XML, DTD, Schema, XForms, SOAP, WAP, JavaScript, VBScript, SQL, ASP, PHP, .NET, SVG, Flash, and many more. It also contains "quick" references, examples, quizzes, certification, quick starters, and validators.

Additional Courses, Tutorials, & Lectures

Algorithm and Data Structure Tutorials

Algorithm and Data Structure Tutorials (with Java and C++ implementations) is an educational Website dedicated to data structures and algorithms. Its tutorials cover various topics like sorting algorithms, linear and tree data structures, graph algorithms, basic programming concepts, and are supplemented with illustrated examples and implementations in both Java and C++.

Animations to Assist Learning Some Key Computer Science Topics

This site contains introductory computer science educational material with animations to assist learning key concepts. It is divided into 8 modules: algorithms, artificial intelligence, data structures, machine architecture, number systems, operating systems, programming languages, and software engineering. Each module is independent and includes lessons, animations, interactive components, and review questions.

BIRS Workshop Lecture Videos

From the Banff International Research Station for Mathematical Innovation and Discovery (BIRS), this collection contains a wide variety of videos on primary research in the fields of mathematics, statistics, and theoretical computer science.

BlueJ - The Interactive Java Environment

BlueJ is an interactive Java environment designed to teach object-orientation to beginners.

Codango

Codango is a resource for the Web development communtiy. It contains reviews and guides for PHP, JSP, ASP, and ASP.NET. Resources included are in-depth reviews, Web applications, scripts, components, tutorials, hosting, and industry buzz.

CODE Visual Parallel Programming System

CODE (Computationally-Oriented Display Environment) is a visual parallel program that allows users to change a sequential program into a parallel one. The software must be downloaded and installed on a UNIX system.

Computer Architecture Tutorial

Covering the computer architecture concepts of caches and pipelining, this tutorial is aimed at undergraduate students. Examples, interactive applets, and problems with solutions are included.

Computer Certifications

This site, also known as Certification Crazy, provides information and free resources for all of the major computer certifications, such as CIW (webmaster), Cisco, Microsoft, Novell, Oracle, Linux, security, and Unix. There are study guides, practice exams, discussion groups, and other important certification  information.

Computer Vision Handbook

The purpose of this handbook is to outline important ideas and techniques used in computer vision and to furnish references to books, papers, and Web sites containing additional information.

Dell KACE:  Resources

This Website contains resources like webcasts, analyst reports, white papers, data sheets, knowledge base, downloads, and discussions on software distribution. software deployment, and desktop administration.

Don Knuth: Musings and More

The Stanford Center for Professional Development is in the process of digitizing over 100 musings, lectures, and classes of computer science pioneer Donald Knuth. Several are currently available; more will be added over time.

Dream.in.code

Dream.in.code is a resource for programming and Web development help. It is a community of programmers that includes access to tutorials, code examples, and expert help. Resources are available for C & C++, Visual Basic, Java, .NET, PHP, ColdFusion, ASP & ASP.NET, Pearl & Python, databases, game programming, and Ruby. There are also forums and a career center. Most of the resources are freely available, but to receive expert help, registration is required.

How to Make a Website

How to Make a Website provides a step-by-step guide to creating a website.  Learn how to choose a platform, select a web address, and set up & customize a website.

Hypermedia Image Processing Reference (HIPR)

Developed at the University of Edinburgh, HIPR is a set of tutorials on image processing and machine vision. It includes information on a wide range of image processing operations.

Interaction-Design.org

Interaction-Design.org contains free educational materials for human-computer interaction and interaction design.  The centerpiece of this Website is the Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction, an evolving encyclopedia covering a wide range of subjects.  This site also includes a collection of videos, a conference calendar, and a bibliography in Wiki format.

InterOperability Laboratory: Knowledge Base: Tutorials

From the University of New Hampshire InterOperability Laboratory, this site contains tutorials on emerging technologies such as 10 gigabit Ethernet, very high rate Digital Subscriber Line (VDSL), and wireless standards. The tutorials are arranged in 25 subject categories.

Linux Documentation Project

The LDP provides access to Linux guides (book length), HOWTOs (documents on specific subjects), FAQs (questions with answers), man pages (help with individual commands), and the Linux Gazette (a magazine with tips and tricks).

A List Apart

A List Apart is a free, online magazine that focuses on Web design and development with a special emphasis on Web standards and best practices.  New content is added every Tuesday.  Articles appear in these categories:  code, content, culture, design, mobile, process, and user science.  Source code is freely available.

Online Tutorials from the IEEE Communications Society

Thanks to corporate sponsorhip, each month the IEEE Communications Society provides a set of free tutorials. The tutorials are recorded at IEEE Communications Society-sponsored conferences, and are 2.5 to 5 hours in length, containing the original visuals and voice-over by the presenter.

An Overview of Cryptography

This is an online introduction to cryptography covering the main types of encryption and their applications, trust models, and cryptographic algorithms.

P2PU School of Webcraft

The School of Webcraft provides free online courses from basic to advanced subjects.  Courses run simultaneously and new courses are added regularly.  Registration is required.

Science Documentaries:  IT

Science Documentaries specializes in science and technology documentaries.  The IT section covers information technology documentaries.  There is also section for IT Lectures.  

ScienceCinema
ScienceCinema uses innovative audio indexing and speech recognition technology to help locate videos produced by the U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories and research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise video segments where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can select and play the video segments. Currently, there are current over 3,000 speech-indexed videos in the collection.
 
SciVee
 
The goal of SciVee is to advance the dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge by making research more visible.  Researchers can promote their work by uploading video presentations that serve as more approachable guides to their research.  SciVee offers the capability to synchronize video with text-based documents.  This capability can be used to create PubCasts, PosterCasts, PaperCasts, and SlideCasts.  SciVee is searchable and can be browsed by broad subject.
TechOnLine

TechOnLine offers live and archived Webcasts, online courses, virtual labs, feature articles, technical papers, and forums. The resources are free, but users must register first.

TutorialFind

TutorialFind is a directory of computing tutorials divided into the following categories: hardware, networking, operating systems, programming, software, and Web design. It provides access to tutorials on other Web sites. TutorialFind can be browsed by category or searched by keywords.

UNIXhelp for Users

This site contains helpful information for users of the UNIX operating system. It is organized by tasks, commands, concepts, and utilities, and includes a searchable glossary.

Videolectures.net: Computer Science

Videolectures.net is a repository for free educational lectures in science, technology, business, arts, education, law, and the humanities. Given by renowned scholars, the lectures are derived from conferences, workshops, summer schools, and other promotional events. The site is searchable.

WPKube

WPKube's focus is WordPress resources and includes guides, how-to’s, plugins, and news.  Its goal is to provide the most comprehensive beginner’s guides to anything about WordPress.

Subject Guide

Kathleen Flynn's picture
Kathleen Flynn
Contact:
Science Library, SL-142
University at Albany
1400 Washington Ave.
Albany, NY 12222
(518) 437-3943