LibGuides: Archives: A Guide to Information Sources: Preservation/Conservation Resources

Basic Information

Books of Interest

The Preservation Management Handbook by Donia Conn (Revised by); Ross Harvey; Martha R. Mahard
Call Number: Dewey Books Z701 .P7445 2020
ISBN: 1538109018
Publication Date: 2020
Digital Curation Projects Made Easy by Carmen Cowick
Call Number: Dewey Books Z701.3.C65 C69 2018
ISBN: 1538103516
Publication Date: 2018
Techniques for Electronic Resource Management by Jill Emery; Graham Stone; Peter McCracken
Call Number: Dewey Books Z692.C65 E447 2020
ISBN: 0838919049
Publication Date: 2019

Preservation and Conservation Websites

AATA Online
AATA Online is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.
more...less...
It has been managed and published by the Getty since 1983. AATA Online contains over 148,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates. The database also includes selected subject-specific bibliographies produced as part of the Getty Conservation Institute’s own conservation and scientific research projects or as part of specific collaborative projects in which the Institute is involved.
Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN)
BCIN, the Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network, is the web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property.
Bookbinding and the Conservation of Books: A Dictionary of Descriptive Terminology
Center for Research Libraries
CRL member libraries invest heavily in print and digital resources to support advanced research and teaching. For these libraries, building and maintaining their own physical collections and supporting print archives and digital repositories are both mission-critical activities. CRL gathers and analyzes data to inform those activities, and provides opportunities for the sharing of expertise and best practices.
Community Owned Digital Preservation Tool Registry (COPTR)
COPTR describes tools useful for long term digital preservation. It primarily acts as a finding and evaluation tool to help practitioners discover the tools they need to perform particular preservation tasks.
Connecting to Collections Care
Connecting to Collections Care is continually evaluating resources that will be of use to smaller cultural institutions to help users readily find information on all aspects of the care and management of their collections. To make finding resources even more efficient, the site contains a faceted Resource Search tool. This tool will give the most precise results for the many hundreds of resources linked to its website.
Conservation Consultants Database
Conservation Consultants Database managed by the American Institute for Conservation & Foundation for Conservation.
Conservation OnLine (CoOL)
Conservation OnLine (CoOL) is a freely accessible platform to generate and disseminate vital resources for those working to preserve cultural heritage worldwide.
Digital Preservation Handbook
A key knowledge base for digital preservation, peer-reviewed and freely accessible to all.
The Film Preservation Guide The Basics for Archives, Libraries, and Museums
This guide is designed to introduce film preservation to the community of research
organizations that now have collections of motion picture film. It is a basic primer
for film preservation “beginners”—professionals trained in archival studies, librarianship, museum work, or a subject field but unschooled in this technical specialty.
The International Research on Permanent Authentic Records in Electronic Systems (InterPARES)
InterPARES aims at developing the knowledge essential to the long-term preservation of authentic records created and/or maintained in digital form and providing the basis for standards, policies, strategies and plans of action capable of ensuring the longevity of such material and the ability of its users to trust its authenticity.
Library Binding for Preservation
NEDCC Preservation Leaflets
Leaflet topic categories let you explore this popular and authoritative resource, or use the search box to find expert information on a wide variety of preservation topics.
Northeast Document Conservation Center
Northeast Document Conservation Center was founded in 1973, this center preserves paper and parchment artifacts, including artwork, photographs, books, maps and manuscripts.
Videos on Preservation

Research Guides

Archives: A Guide to Information Sources

Information Science Librarian

Basic Information

Books of Interest

Preservation and Conservation Websites