Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Finding Aids
Finding aids provide a gateway to this wealth of Library treasures, helping you discover and navigate through the thousands of boxes and folders that house each collection.
These guides provide comprehensive overviews of unique Library resources. Progressively detailed descriptions of a collection's component parts summarize the overall scope of the content, convey details about the individuals and organizations involved, and list box and folder headings. Special service conditions are noted, including terms under which the collection may be accessed or copied. Links are provided to digitized content, when available.
From the Library of Congress
Finding Aids for Specific Collections
Brooklyn Public Library Finding Aids
Brooklyn Public Library's Brooklyn Collection documents the history of Brooklyn from pre-colonial times to the present. A unique resource for the study of Brooklyn’s social and cultural history, the Brooklyn Collection is a distinct division of Central Library, and is BPL's only collection of archival and rare book material.
Library of Congress Finding Aids
Search across all LC finding aids — or within an individual finding aid — by keywords and phrases. Searches may be limited to a specific LC location and to a finding aid's Overview or Contents List.
National Archives - Guides and Finding Aids
NARA guides provide researchers with detailed information on general and selected subjects documented in the holdings of the National Archives.
New-York Historical Society Archival Finding Aids for Manuscript Collections
Archival Finding Aids are detailed guides to the contents and intellectual organization of a repository's archival and manuscript collections. The finding aids posted here in alphabetical order describe selected collections in the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library's Manuscript department
New York State's Environmental History
The New York State Archives partnered with seven other historical records repositories to create a virtual collection on New York State's Environmental History.
Information Science Librarian