Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives: Principles and Practices by
Publication Date: 2017
The book outlines fundamental archival principles and practices, introduces core concepts, and explains best practices to ensure that documentary materials are cared for as effectively as possible.
Museum Basics by
Publication Date: 2018
Drawing from a wide range of practical experience, the authors provide a basic guide to all aspects of museum work, from audience development and learning, through collections management and conservation, to museum management and forward planning. Museum Basics is organised on a modular basis, with over 100 units in eight sections.
ARSC Guide to Audio Preservation
The guide aims to help public and private institutions, as well as individual collectors, that have sound recordings in their collections but lack the professional expertise in one or more areas to preserve them. The chapters that follow cover audio conservation and preservation, recorded sound formats and their associated risks, appraisal, related copyright issues, and disaster preparedness.
Digital Preservation Handbook.
A key knowledge base for digital preservation, peer-reviewed and freely accessible to all.
Directory of Archival Consultants
Directory of Archival Consultants contains information about experts across the country who provide professional consulting services on various aspects of archives and archiving. All listings in this directory are paid listings. Information provided by consultants is not independently checked or verified.
A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology.
Published by SAA in 2005 as one of seven volumes in the Archival Fundamentals Series II, the Glossary, by Richard Pearce-Moses, contains more than 2,000 defined entries, more than 600 lead-in terms, and nearly 700 citations from some 280 sources, and is based primarily on archival literature in the United States and Canada.
Running a Museum: A Practical Handbook - UNESCO Digital Library
The preparation of this book, Running a Museum: A Practical Handbook, came about at the request of UNESCO’s Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Cultural Heritage of Iraq. The need was felt for an elementary manual that could be used by trainers and trainees in courses on museum subjects, as a tool for persons already working in museums in Iraq, and as a reference document providing guidance for more in-depth study of particular aspects. It would also be of interest to laymen in understanding the basic aspects of running a museum.
Standards for Archival Description: A Handbook
Describes technical standards, conventions, and guidelines used by archivists in describing holdings and repositories.
Videotape Preservation Handbook
This handbook is intended to answer the questions of archivists, librarians, and others who have a collection of videotapes they wish to keep for many years. The guidelines offered touch briefly on each appropriate topic, but do not cover any topic in detail.