3D Printing at School and Makerspaces by 
Makerspaces in School by 
Makers, Crafters, Educators by 
The Kickstart Guide to Making GREAT Makerspaces by 
Library Makerspaces by 
The Green Screen Makerspace Project Book by 
STEM-Rich Maker Learning by 
Best Technologies for Public Libraries by 
Digital Modelmaking by 
3D Printing and Intellectual Property by 
Challenge-Based Learning in the School Library Makerspace by 
The Elementary School Library Makerspace 
by
A must-read for elementary school librarians interested in starting a makerspace at their school, but who are concerned about the cost and are looking for curriculum links for getting started. Makerspaces are a powerful way to expand a school library's influence as an educational partner in the school community. However, many elementary school librarians and educators are hesitant to consider adding a makerspace to their programming due to concerns about costs. This book focuses on effective ways to start a makerspace in your school on a shoestring budget while simultaneously supporting curriculum standards and inviting the collaboration of other members of your school community. Today's school librarians have many responsibilities and often face a shrinking budget. The Elementary School Library Makerspace: A Start-Up Guide is a one-stop shop for learning the specific steps to successfully starting an elementary school library makerspace, without getting behind on managing your current school library tasks and responsibilities or blowing your budget. You'll learn how and where the makerspace movement started, and why; understand why today's young students crave hands-on experiences; and receive dozens of makerspace examples for each grade level by content area, including ones for language arts, math, science, engineering, arts, social studies, and technology. The book also covers how and why to track particular numbers regarding program performance, explains how to use creativity to start your makerspace with minimal dollars, and outlines how to make your PR efforts in letting others know about your school library makerspace effective in engaging many possible audiences. * Features ready-to-use, reproducible curricular lessons to use in a makerspace environment * Provides specific ideas on how to create and fund a makerspace with very little money * Presents specific advice on how to staff and run an elementary school makerspace while maintaining all other library services * Includes helpful ideas to encourage community involvement * Helps advance the teaching of curriculum standards from theory to actual understanding
School Library Makerspaces in Action by
Maker learning spaces in schools and public libraries are made real through the narratives of professional librarians around the world, comprising the collaborative activities, experiences, and perspectives of librarians as they have implemented makerspaces for students of all ages. School Library Makerspaces in Action is for any librarian looking for inspiration for their own makerspaces, hackerspaces, fablabs, or DIY locations and how to use these spaces in libraries and educational settings. Contributions from authors around the world address the needs of most all readers, including how to provide the staff training necessary for a successful makerspace. Each chapter is written from an author's personal experience, and with only a little fine-tuning and imagination, many of these ideas can be used throughout all levels, disciplines, and subjects in K-12 education and carry over into higher education. The successes and optimism shared in this collection will inspire librarians and educators to think positively about how to implement maker learning locations, train staff, and use makerspaces in their libraries and classrooms to promote and share new ideas. * Provides inspirational examples of successful makerspaces in school and public libraries * Furnishes practical, immediately usable projects, assignments, and curricula * Offers needed examples of how to train maker librarians * Showcases working partnerships between school and public librarians in makerspace endeavors
Makers with a Cause by
This quick-start guide explains how to use inquiry to promote civic engagement in the school library makerspace and provides ready-to-use ideas for hands-on service projects. By creating for their community in the school library makerspace, young people not only develop academic and cognitive skills but also learn to value building a culture of caring. Award-winning author Gina Seymour discusses her initiative to empower students to take an active role in making a difference and outlines how to implement similar programs in any school library setting. The book may be used in school libraries in conjunction with a service learning model to extend the learning that takes place in classrooms and to make youth feel a valuable part of their community. Numerous service project ideas are presented, from simple, low-cost, no-tech, craft-based ideas to high-tech projects including 3-D models, and while the book focuses on youth in middle school and high school, many projects may also be used in elementary school. Detailed project instructions include tips for making programs inclusive for all youth, and money-saving tips to promote sustainability. * Provides step-by-step instruction for service-driven, hands-on projects * Lists possible organizations to work with as well as a calendar of dates to facilitate programming * Provides detailed funding sources and makerspace set-up instructions * Offers advice for developing community partnerships
