Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Databases and indexes allow you to identify journal articles on your topic. Databases that cover the information science, education, and literature are useful for researching topics in school media, children's literature, and children's literacy. This list is of relevant databases that are available to students, faculty, and staff of the University at Albany.
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts
Contains the full text of reviews from publications such as School Librarian, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, and The New York Times Book Review.
Indexes journals that cover libraries and librarianship.
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,850 academic periodicals and includes full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Gale's OneFile Educator's Reference Complete
Resource for educators and education students. Provides access to periodicals covering pre-school to college and most educational specialties. Includes full-text for many titles cited in ERIC. Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS). The New York Library Initiative is a proposal for the permanent state funding for NOVELNY, a pilot project for the Statewide Internet Library.
ERIC is a database produced by the federal government. It contains research resources for the education fields. You will find resources geared toward teaching children's and young adult literature as well as collection development for school media centers.
Literature Resource Center
Contains biographic entries, full text articles, critical essays and reviews and overviews of popular literature. Search by title, author or subject.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.
Provides full text articles from hundreds of journals around the world. Use Children's Literature as a subject heading.
This database provides full text articles from some prominent journals in the field of children's literature. You can search by topic or browse specific journals.
Essay and General Literature Index
Search this database using subjects such as Children's literature;Children's literature / History and criticism;Children's literature, English History in literature:
Children's literature / Psychological aspects;Children's literature, German;Children's literature in series;Fantasy fiction;Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in literature.
Information Science Librarian