Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Wonderful World of Reading
Digital Children's Collections
Brooklyn Public Library’s Hunt Collection
The Hunt Collection consists of approximately 7,000 juvenile books, pamphlets, and periodicals dating back to the 1740s and concluding with materials published in the 1950s, including some first editions. Included are classic children's literary texts, of special limited and illustrated editions, and books written and/or illustrated by people affiliated with Brooklyn at some point in their career. The “Old Juvenile” part of the collection consists of approximately 4,500 items dating from the 1740s throughout the very early decades of the 1900s.
Complete Library of Children' Books Online: The Rosetta Project
The Rosetta Project: largest collection of illustrated antique books on line. Stories available to read to your child, to play aloud, and in various languages.
Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People 1880-1923
The Eloise Ramsey Collection of Literature for Young People was named for its creator, Eloise Ramsey. Ramsey believed that it was important for future teachers to take courses in children's literature. She provided over 400 rare or notable books to start this collection, which is now part of the Special Collections in the Wayne State University library system. Important books from this collection have been digitized for online access
Historic Children's Books - Ball State University Digital Media Repository
The Historic Children's Books digital collection includes monographs published during the 19th and 20th centuries for youth. The books feature songs, rhymes, games, fairy tales, histories, and morality tales for children.
The Hockliffe Project has been designed to promote the study of early British children's literature. It provides internet access to the Hockliffe Collection of Early Children's Books, located in Bedford in the UK. This website contains a catalogue of the Collection along with digital images of many of the books, plus bibliographical information and critical and contextualising essays. The Project’s aim is to facilitate a re-evaluation of children's literature in its own infancy, and to let these rich and varied books speak for themselves.
International Digital Children's Library
The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.
Internet Archive Children's Library
Internet Archive's Books for children from around the world.
Library of Congress Digitized Children's Book Collection
This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.
Nineteenth Century Schoolbooks
The 19th Century Schoolbooks Collection contains schoolbooks from the Nietz Old Textbook Collection. In addition, this online collection also contains two works by Dr. John Nietz, which survey historic American schoolbooks in the context of the history of education.
Open Library - Internet Archive
Open Library's Student Library, a School Library designed for a k-12 audience.
Osborne Collection of Early Children's Books (Digital) - Toronto Public Library
The Osborne Collection holds items encompassing the development of English children’s literature up to and including 1910. The Lillian H. Smith Collection's are items of literary and artistic merit published in English after 1910, including picture books; fairy tales; and early and first editions of modern children’s classics.
Prange Digital Children's Book Collection (Japanese)
The Gordon W. Prange Collection contains nearly 8,000 children's book titles published in Japan between 1945 and 1949, including 1,608 picture book (ehon) titles, 2,069 comic book (manga) titles and 4,275 story book (yomimono) titles.
Project Gutenberg Children's Bookshelf
Project Gutenberg eBooks are mostly older literary works. Most were published before 1924, with some published in the decades after. The Children's Book Shelf has hundreds of children's books including anthologies, school stories, and fairy tales.
Stories and poems by classic authors including Lewis Carroll, Rudyard Kipling. Oscar Wilde and Charles Dickens, Edward Lear and others.
StoryPlace came about to provide children with the virtual experience of going to the Library and participating in the same types of activities the Library offers at its physical locations. First launched in 2000, StoryPlace has been newly redesigned to present favorite stories and activities in a format compatible with desktop and mobile devices.
Unite for Literacy
The Unite for Literacy organization is run by educators and writers who want to bring the joy of reading to every home. They have published almost 200 digital books in the free library and have narrations available in multiple languages.
University of Florida Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature.
The Baldwin Library of Historical Children’s Literature in the Department of Special Collections at the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries contains more than 115,000 volumes published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. The Library also has small holdings in manuscript collections, original artwork, and assorted ephemera such as board games, puzzles, and toys.