Library Programming Made Easy by
Libraries are always looking for new ways to engage with their patrons, and well-planned programming is one way to accomplish this goal. Library programming accomplishes this. Successful programming can be found in offering a variety of events, focusing activities on specific constituents, and providing meaningful library experiences. It can also be seen in advertising, social media, and the careful planning and execution of programs that ensure high quality engagement and participation. This book provides in-depth practical advice and examples of public and academic library programming activities. Included in this volume are methods for identifying target audiences, activities and ways to find and generate even more ideas, tools for assessment and budgeting, and tips on planning programs from inception to execution. Chapters include: -Making a Case for Programming -Discovering the Best Programs for Your Library -Finding Programming Partners -Funding and Budgeting -Getting Organized and Executing Programs -Advertising Your Programs for Success -Public and Academic Library Programming -Assessment and Evaluation Libraries use programming to build and maintain strong partnerships and collaborative opportunities that actively engage their users. In addition to these community-building measures programming can provide assessment tools that help inform future decision-making within the library environment while also assuring quality events and activities. Use this book to attract new patrons, highlight library services and resources, and showcase the overall quality and value of your library.
Gaming Programs for All Ages at the Library by
Join librarian and lifelong gamer Tom Bruno on his quest to bring gaming to his library community, from bringing back classic board games such as Fireball Island to offering free play in the latest virtual reality games using the Oculus Rift or the HTC Vive Gaming Programs for All Ages at the Library shows you how you can launch and support gaming programming in your library, including: -how to make the case for library gaming with your administration, -how to acquire and loan gaming materials (whether or not you have the budget for them ), -how to publicize your library gaming programming, and -how to incorporate other library units into the gaming experience. Everything from acquisitions to budgeting to circulation is covered in this practical guide --- you'll also learn about promotion, assessment, and experiential learning opportunities
Escape Rooms and Other Immersive Experiences in the Library by
"In over a decade of designing programs, nothing I've ever worked on inspired more delight and surprise than our immersive programs," says librarian Nicole Scherer. Escape Rooms worldwide have quadrupled in the past three years, and libraries are getting in the act. Scavenger hunts have been a library orientation staple, puzzles, clues, and team competitions add to the fun. When it comes to STEM or curriculum support, what better way to learn chemistry than the immersive play of a wizardry potion class. Author Ellyssa Kroski, an escape room enthusiast and potions class graduate, will show you a full range of options with how-to guidance, on such topics as: Hosting a pre-designed game from leading educational supplier, BreakoutEDU.com Start-to-finish, replicable model Kroski developed for her library--Search for Alexander Hamilton and the Missing Librarian.How to design your own escape room from scratchDescriptive listing of 16 library projects with audience demographics, run-time, required staff, and budgetResources for making crossword, soduku, or jigsaw puzzles.Escape room board games or a digital breakout with Google toolsPop-up escape rooms to take on the road for outreach.Bring LARP to your library, live-action role-playing, the most popular immersive experiencehow to create an escape room flow-chart for planningDesigning a kid-friendly escape room.Vendor listings of the all the supplies you'll need. Planning template for an escape room project.
Bringing Genius Hour to Your Library 
by
This unique book presents a practical and realistic approach to implementing a school-wide, K-12 Genius Hour program--one that can succeed regardless of budgetary and infrastructure constraints. Genius Hour is a movement in which students are allowed to spend a portion of their in-school time learning about a topic of their choosing--even subjects outside of the curriculum. When properly implemented, a Genius Hour program can create true passion for learning among unmotivated students, ignite interest in STEM as well as the arts, encourage collaboration, improve the relationship between educator and students, and help prepare students for real life outside of the educational system. But revamping a school library program to offer a Genius Hour program may seem like an insurmountable task--especially when working with a limited staff or budget. This book provides specific direction and concrete advice that enables school librarians to lead a school-wide program for all grade levels, from kindergarten to 12th grade. It explains why Genius Hour is the perfect program complement to the learning commons environment; presents research and support that will empower librarians to make a convincing case to administration; explains how to enlist the participation of faculty; and provides step-by-step guidance to begin, successfully manage, and grow a campus-wide Genius Hour. Librarians will see why investing in "creative teaching" is worth the effort, despite their limited time and resources; understand how to help underperforming students make their distractions "count" in school; and look forward to playing a part in creating imaginative and independent thinkers, not test takers. * Provides a clear plan for implementing a school-wide genius hour program that can create a fluid learning and teaching experience for both students and librarians * Offers an education program that matches the goals or mission of a venue such as a learning commons environment * Delineates how a school librarian can fulfill a position of leadership in the school to implement a school-wide vision * Written with sensitivity to and knowledge of the issues that surround both public and private schools--for example, varying budgets, degrees of technology adoption, and community support
Mindful School Libraries by 
Early Learning Through Play by
This creative guidebook teaches librarians in diverse communities how to develop and implement early learning programming beyond traditional storytimes. While traditional library storytimes are excellent tools for families, equally important is play. Children learn through play in many ways; it stimulates exploration and curiosity and builds gross and fine motor skills that are critical to reading and writing success. Perhaps most importantly, play has the power to cross barriers of culture and language, allowing families from differing backgrounds to learn together. In this book, Kristin Grabarek and Mary R. Lanni--the pioneers of Little University, an early learning program that focuses on play-based learning--share their experiences and provide guidance for implementing similar programs at libraries of various sizes and budgets. They teach readers how to create programs for a diverse group of families, work with outside providers, choose supplies, estimate costs, market your programming, and overcome the challenges of both big and small budgets and many or few patrons. These practical plans will enhance storytimes and even help build a brand-new early learning program. * Connects library programs to parents' desire for children to begin formal learning at an early age * Offers a blueprint for making play a sustainable early-learning program series for budgets big and small * Includes ideas for making early learning activities relevant to the six early literacy skills in a public library setting * Emphasizes how library programming can support early childhood development and prepare children for success in kindergarten and beyond * Shares tips for marketing the program to parents and caregivers
Transforming Summer Programs at Your Library by
Changes in public libraries, the communities they serve, children's lives, and educational research all demonstrate that traditional summer reading programs need to be reimagined. Working groups of librarians, in partnership with the California Library Association and the California State Library, have done just that, creating and implementing outcomes- and outreach-based summer reading programs that speak directly to diverse and changing communities. Drawing on case studies from several different libraries, this book shows how other libraries can transform their own summer programs. Offering a vision of change in action, the authors begin with an historical overview of summer programming in public libraries and a review of the research and conditions that have prompted recent changes in summer programs; discuss the principles, strategies, and evaluation framework that California librarians have created to transform their institutions; review a statewide campaign, Summer Matters, that is working to provide equitable summer learning opportunities for all children in California; and take an in-depth look at Lunch at the Library, a public library summer meal project, which brings underserved families to the library while providing learning opportunities for children, volunteer opportunities for teens, and resources for adults. Public library staff and educators will feel inspired and empowered by the positive examples put forth in this book.
Children's Literature in Action by
Looking for a practitioner-oriented intro to literature for children ages 5-12? This book covers the latest trends, titles, and tools for choosing the best books and materials as well as for planning fun and effective programs and activities. Children's Literature in Action: A Librarian's Guide, Second Edition presents an action-oriented approach for sharing books with children ages 5 through 12, planning book-based programs, and collaborating with teachers and families in sharing books and developing literature-based instruction. Author Sylvia M. Vardell draws on her 30 years of university teaching and extensive familiarity with the major textbooks in the area of children's literature to deliver something different: a book that focuses specifically on the perspective and needs of the librarian, with emphasis on practical action and library applications. The contents address seven major genres: picture books, traditional tales, poetry, contemporary realistic fiction, historical fiction, fantasy, and informational books. This invaluable book addresses such questions as "How should a librarian select and share books in each genre?" and "How do I generate interest in reading with today's students?" as well as "What are the best promotion and collaboration activities associated with each genre?" Although the work is specifically written to help new librarians get up to speed in the field of children's literature, it will benefit everyone from experienced, practicing librarians and children's services paraprofessionals to elementary level educators and parents who homeschool their children. * Includes recommendations and evaluations of digital eBooks, apps, and audiobooks as well as print titles, providing full coverage of the range of materials for children today * Features short essays by top authors and practitioners in the field to give readers expert opinions and guidance * Provides author comments, collaborative activities, featured books, special topics and programs, selected awards and celebrations, historical connections, recommended resources, issues for discussion, relevant professional standards, and assignment suggestions within each chapter * Addresses the most recent professional and curricular standards for elementary school students--a key element of today's education assessment standards
Career Programming for Today's Teens by
Enrollment in vocational programs is on the rise and many high schools are introducing or restarting vocational preparedness components as part of their curricula. You already know that programming events for young adults can draw a big crowd, which means that right now is the right time to make sure your library's lineup includes offerings that will help youth transition into successful adults. An essential resource for frontline library staff and administrators, this guide presents step-by-step guidance on designing, planning, and implementing career programming for teens, including career readiness workshops and an annual trade school fair. Drawing from their own successful efforts, the authors address the importance of career programming for teens in the library, illustrated using research-based evidence; advice for building a collection of print materials and digital resources to assist teens as they explore career options; ways that library staff can partner with local schools and other youth-serving organizations to help teens plan for their futures; how library staff can design and facilitate engaging career programming that teens and preteens want to attend, including detailed instructions for replicating the authors' Fast Track Trade School Fair; and how to measure the outcomes of these programs and use teen feedback to plan additional programs. This resource also includes interviews with library staff, school professionals, and teens who have attended this type of programming, providing additional examples for readers.
Murder Mystery, Graphic Novels, and More:Innovative Programs for Engaging Teens in Your Library by
This book offers step-by-step details on how to plan and execute library workshops and programs to inspire creativity in teens. Music, movies, graphic novels, and magazines for teens are now commonplace in libraries, and librarians are in a unique position to go beyond simply providing teens with access to them; they can engage teens in creating and sharing their own original content. Written in a light, accessible manner, this book empowers youth services librarians to do just that. Murder Mystery, Graphic Novels, and More provides instruction on hosting creative workshops dedicated to creating and publishing graphic novels; writing and performing interactive murder mystery events; creating animation films; and more--all within a reasonable budget. The chapter on creating graphic novels is itself an original graphic novel drawn by the author, who is also a comic book artist, and a portion of the book lists and explains different "creativity games" both short and long that may be used as everything from icebreakers to exercises to programs in their own right. * Empowers librarians to teach graphic novel creation, create murder mystery events, make animated films, and offer other creative programs on a shoestring budget * Provides exercises and games librarians can use to kick-start creativity in teens * Includes other fun elements such as further information offered in word bubbles in the graphic novel section and a built-in flip book
Teaching Life Skills in the School Library by
Drawing on stories from successful programs and research, this book shows librarians how to provide students with the practical information they need for a bright future. Chapters cover career readiness, financial literacy, and civic responsibility at each grade level. From preschool through high school, students are preparing for their future. As they move through grade levels, they choose courses, research potential careers, learn about managing money, and recognize the responsibilities of being active citizens. At each step of the way, librarians can collaborate with teachers to help students to learn how to live in a world they can only imagine. School librarians are positioned to make a positive impact on students' lives when it matters most. Focusing on preparation for life after high school, this book cites research and provides anecdotes of successful programs as examples of how school librarians, in collaboration with counselors, community members, public libraries, and teachers, can develop collections and offer programming to show students the importance of finishing high school. Chapters also explain how to help students to find the college or university that fits with their educational interests and won't cause them to incur enormous debt. Included in every chapter are activities, resources, and lesson plans around topics at each grade level for librarians to co-teach with teachers, counselors, and other school staff. * Addresses the problem of gaps in most school curriculums * Defines the school librarian's leadership role in addressing this problem * Gives concrete examples, tools, and lessons for use in schools K-12 * Defines the school librarian's role in collaboratively addressing readiness for the real world after high school
Fanfiction in Libraries by 
STEAM for Girls by 
