Children's Core Collection by
The Children's Core Collection, (23rd Edition, 2018) is a guide of approximately 12,000 books, covering fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels and magazines recommended for readers from preschool through grade six. It is a comprehensive list of recommended books for children, together with review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection by
Middle & Junior High School Core Collection, (13th Edition, 2017) is a guide to over 10,000 fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and young adolescents, grades five through nine.
Reading the World's Stories by
Reading the World's Stories is volume 5 in the Bridges to Understanding series of annotated international youth literature bibliographies sponsored by the United States Board on Books for Young People. USBBY is the United States chapter of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), a Switzerland-based nonprofit whose mission is bring books and children together. The series promotes sharing international children's books as a way to facilitate intercultural understanding and meet new literary voices. This volume follows Children's Books from Other Countries (1998), The World though Children's Books (2002), Crossing Boundaries with Children's Books (2006), and Bridges to Understanding: Envisioning the World through Children's Books (2011) and acts as a companion book to the earlier titles. Centered around the theme of the importance of stories, the guide is a resource for discovering more recent global books that fit many reading tastes and educational needs for readers aged 0-18 years. Essays by storyteller Anne Pellowski, author Beverley Naidoo, and academic Marianne Martens offer a variety of perspectives on international youth literature. This latest installment in the series covers books published from 2010-2014 and includes English-language imports as well as translations of children's and young adult literature first published outside of the United States. These books are supplemented by a smaller number of culturally appropriate books from the US to help fill in gaps from underrepresented countries. The organization of the guide is geographic by region and country. All of the more than 800 entries are recommended, and many of the books have won awards or achieved other recognition in their home countries. Forty children's book experts wrote the annotations. The entries are indexed by author, translator, illustrator, title, and subject. Back matter also includes international book awards, important organizations and research collections, and a selected directory of publishers known for publishing books from other countries.
Lessons Inspired by Picture Books for Primary Grades by
Featured testimonial: "I just got my 25 copies of Lessons Inspired by Picture Books. It is FANTASTIC! I love the way the lessons are framed with inquiry questions; how the anchor chart examples 'teach' collaborative practices; and the use of AASL Best Apps, assessments, and rubrics. This one is a winner! I really think this could be used as a text for teaching a new librarian how to organize, deliver, and assess instruction. WOW! So glad I bought this for my elementary team!" -- Mary Keeling; Supervisor, Library Media Services; Newport News Public Schools, VA Drawing on compelling picture books that can be used to directly support the AASL National School Library Standards for Learners, School Librarians, and School Libraries, this ready-to-go toolkit of lessons, worksheets, anchor charts, assessments, and rubrics is specifically designed to build learner competencies while examining big ideas inspired by picture books. An invaluable timesaver, this resource provides 21 lesson units that cover the six Shared Foundations, each utilizing a formatted template that's easy to follow and incorporates the four Domains (Think, Create, Share, Grow); a picture book synopsis for each unit, followed by lesson objectives, essential questions, materials, and duration; worksheets, anchor charts, and exit slips tailored for each picture book and lesson; "Quick Tips" that offer helpful ideas and suggestions to consider during the lesson; and an appendix that includes rubrics to facilitate assessment in all six foundations. With this resource in hand, learners and educators alike will think, create, share, and grow as they work together to meet the AASL Standards.
Graphic Novels Core Collection 2018 by
H.W. Wilson's Graphic Novels Core Collection (2nd Edition, 2018) provides expert recommendations, developed by H.W. Wilson's team of library and media specialists. Whether for collection development, collection maintenance, readers' advisory, or curriculum support, Graphic Novels Core Collection provides the sound guidance that librarians need so they can rest assured that they are selecting materials that will best serve their collection and their patrons.
The Readers' Advisory Guide to Graphic Novels by 
Literacy Beginnings by
Now aligned to the Expanded Edition of The Fountas & Pinnell Literacy Continuum! Play and language are critical learning tools for the prekindergarten child. Through play and language, they learn about their world and about themselves. Play and language are also the most important tools for early literacy learning. Think of the young child who takes a memo pad and marker around to family members, "taking orders" for dinner. Like all emergent readers and writers, this child makes no distinction between play and literacy-both involve curiosity, excitement, learning, and discovery. In Literacy Beginnings, Irene C. Fountas and Gay Su Pinnell bring their characteristically rich, comprehensive, and practical insights to the frontier of early literacy. They show you how to tap into young children's curiosity to introduce them to the world of literacy in joyful, engaging ways.
Why Reading Books Still Matters by
Bringing together strands of public discourse about valuing personal achievement at the expense of social values and the impacts of global capitalism, mass media, and digital culture on the lives of children, this book challenges the potential of science and business to solve the world¿s problems without a complementary emphasis on social values. The selection of literary works discussed illustrates the power of literature and human arts to instill such values and foster change. The book offers a valuable foundation for the field of literacy education by providing knowledge about the importance of language and literature that educators can use in their own teaching and advocacy work.
Partnering with Parents 
by
Caregiver involvement is key to a child's reading success story, and libraries are in the perfect position to provide the guidance needed for parents and caregivers to embrace their role as their children's first and most enduring teachers. Libraries offer many programs and services for children, but sometimes caregivers are left out of the equation, especially once children start school. Nevertheless, parents and caregivers are an integral part of literacy development, and libraries are a great place for them to witness modeling practices and participate in engaging family programs that encourage early literacy. Mary Schreiber combines personal experience and professional research with the programming expertise of youth librarians from across the country in this guide for libraries looking to make an even greater impact on the level of literacy attained by the children they serve. In Partnering with Parents, readers will find a wealth of information on how to talk to caregivers about the different stages of a child's reading life, what books to recommend to excite both caregivers and children about reading, and ways to encourage parent and caregiver participation in library programming, with additional information on working with and providing programming for diverse families. Whether you are a veteran in the profession or brand new to working with families, you will find something in this book that will help you to make your library a more integral part of the education community. * Teaches librarians how to mentor parents and caregivers, offering different strategies to make a child a reader for life * Includes a go-to list of books and materials to recommend and display * Offers programs that work to engage parents and caregivers in their children's reading life * Shows how to make the library a center for education and learning
Storytime and Beyond by
Join the world of balloons, pancakes, and musical instruments--just a few items to help improve early literacy in the library, the classroom, and at home. Literacy-builders covered range from music and instruments to magnetic letters, alphabet beads, and food. Literacy is a popular topic of discussion among librarians. Especially important is "early literacy," what children know about reading and writing before they can actually read and write. In this book, experienced librarians Kathy Barco and Melanie Borski-Howard share hands-on techniques that they have used to successfully promote early literacy and encourage family involvement. Storytime and Beyond teaches readers how to use "literacy doodads"--inexpensive props that add excitement to storytimes and can be used outside the library or classroom--to enhance the basic components of any early literacy program: talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing. Many of the doodads can be created as family do-it-yourself projects, and some can be adapted to work with non-readers of any age. Instruments can also be a great way to get children's attention and teach literacy skills, whether it's a drum to beat while reading a story or a maraca for children to shake during a song, and lesson plans for musical storytimes address how to use rhythm, singing, and dancing to make early literacy fun. * Teaches librarians how to use storytimes to build literacy skills in pre-readers of all ages * Outlines all of the steps necessary to carry out pre-literacy storytimes, displays, and outreach activities with photos, examples, and instructions for librarians and families * Offers ideas for using inexpensive "doodads," especially those including letters of the alphabet, to build literacy skills * Details how the musical and nonmusical can add musical elements to storytime to improve literacy * Provides tips for engaging caretakers in storytime so that children may continue learning at home
Get Your Community Moving by
By helping patrons view the library in a new way, movement-based programs bring new people into libraries, help promote community health, and stimulate literacy for children and adults alike. And the data show that they work: nearly 90% of public libraries said their movement-based programs had brought new users into their libraries, according to a recent study, while 80% said the programs contributed to community building. Carson, a professional yoga teacher who has been leading movement-based programs in schools, libraries, and museums for over a decade, presents a guidebook for serving library patrons of all ages, both mind and the body together. Filled with detailed strategies, proven program models, and real-life case studies, her book describes the concept of physical literacy and explains why it matters, using both research and library testimonials; shares tips for building enthusiasm among library staff, training, marketing, partnering with community organizations, and handling patron feedback; shows how to get started regardless of staffing or budget limitations, with hints for sneaking physical literacy into existing spaces and initiatives; includes programs for children and families, such as ABC Boom!, storytime fun runs, and a healthy nutrition lecture and tasting; outlines a Water Wars! party, a Quidditch match, an earth walk, and other programs that convert teens' energy into healthy movement; demonstrates ways that adults can also get moving, from gym passes and walk/run clubs to ballroom dancing; guides libraries on involving special populations through outreach and inreach; and provides checklists for prep, teardown, tie-ins, and followup. This book is essential reading for any programming librarian, administrator, or community coordinator looking to boost circulation stats, program numbers, literacy rates, and foster joy and wellness in their community.
Literacy Moments by
In the course of any given day in an early-elementary classroom, a variety of situations present themselves through which a thoughtful teacher could develop teachable moments. This book provides teachers with the tools to consider those teachable opportunities as literacy moments: brief, authentic, joyful encounters with texts in all forms. Here, teachers learn to nurture joyful readers by infusing their classrooms' daily lives with authentic literacy moments every day. The book is organized into three sections, each section containing three chapters. The first section's chapters focus on creating a "literacy moments" learning environment, addressing both the affective and physical domains, as well as the need for teachers to undergo a mindset shift in cultivating their personal reading habits. The second section's chapters emphasize literacy moments for the foundational skills of word recognition and vocabulary development. Here, readers explore the integration of popular culture and the arts into their physical domain, as well as methods for creating and effectively using a print-rich environment. The last section's chapters target literacy moments for developing critical thinking through comprehension processes. The chapters focus on intentionally incorporating literacy moments in each stage of the reading process: pre-reading, during reading, and post-reading.
Collaborative Learning Communities in Middle School Literacy Education by 
