Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Have you read?
Core collection for children and young adults by
Call Number: Dewey Library Z 1037 S378 2008
Best books for middle school and junior high readers : grades 6-9 by
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference Z 1037 G482 2009
The big book of children’s reading lists : 100 great, ready-to-use book lists for educators, librarians, parents, and children by
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference Z 1037 K29 2006
Library Service to Tweens by
Call Number: Dewey Books Z718.5 .L98 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Senior High Core Collection by
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference Z1037 .W77
Publication Date: 2018
Collection Development Literature Resources
An Introduction to Collection Development for School Librarians by Applying an informal and practical approach, Kerby provides beginning librarians with the essential steps to effectively manage a vibrant school library collection. Kerby argues that building a quality collection is no longer enough and offers strategies to ensure that learners actively engage with the materials. Supported by the National School Library Standards and ALA/AASL/CAEP standards for university preparation programs, this resource introduces the key components that influence collection development today, including policies, practices, and selection sources to evaluate, weed, and build dynamic and diverse school library collections; methods and examples for analyzing collection, curriculum, and community needs; strategies for showcasing the school library collection to learners and stakeholders; and charts, checklists, worksheets, discussion questions, and tips from practicing school librarians. By focusing on the basics, readers can begin to reflect on and customize plans for action. A timesaver for the busy school librarian, this collection development digest is the tool you need to ensure success.
Call Number: Dewey Books Z675.S3 K457 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-06
Choosing and Using Fiction and Non-Fiction 3-11 by Choosing and Using Fiction and Non-Fiction 3-11 is a guide for primary teachers to the many kinds of texts children encounter, use and enjoy in their nursery and primary school years, providing an invaluable insight into the literature available. Addressing important issues and allowing for the voices of teachers, reviewers and children to be heard, it contains suggestions of best practice which offer a more creative approach to learning. Including both fiction and non-fiction, with genres ranging from picturebooks to biographies, this fully updated second edition features: New coverage on recent books Discussion of new changes in concepts of literacy, particularly focused on technological advances in moving image media and virtual worlds The balance between print and screen-based texts on developing children's visual and multimodal literacy Annotated booklists for each genre for different age groups New sections on equality, diversity and translation Exploring fiction, non-fiction and poetry, Choosing and Using Fiction and Non-Fiction 3-11 is an invaluable resource, supporting teachers as they help children on their journey to becoming insightful and critical readers of non-fiction, and sensitive and reflective readers of fiction.
Call Number: University Library Books LB1139.5.R43 M248 2020
Publication Date: 2019
Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections by Collection development and management practices, like most everything in the library world, are changing rapidly, and forthcoming new editions of our Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management, by Peggy Johnson, and Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections, by Vicki Gregory, will fill different gaps created by this flux. FCDM, a longstanding ALA book now going into its fourth edition, is the most popular textbook in this area, known in particular for its excellence in the area of collection development for academic libraries. This book, on the other hand, came over from Neal-Schuman, and the proposed book would be its first revision. While not as popular in LIS programs as FCDM, it has sold extremely well. Although Vicki Gregory wrote it with the intention of making as much of the content as evergreen as possible, it could be that the current edition has reached a point, having been published in 211, that it is being dropped from programs for being out of date.This proposed revision will bring this book up to date on electronic materials and new practices. The author's revision plan to-date includes the following elements, but this is a draft plan, and I have given her a list of faculty who use her book to contact for more feedback:* thoroughly update the first chapter ("The Impact of New Technologies on Trends in Collection Development and Management"), removing many subjects and adding new technology and self-publishing;* add a long piece on self-censorship as a component of intellectual freedom;* add more and revised electronic sources for selection, with more emphasis on electronic sources;* add weeding of electronic materials to the weeding section;* update the Bibliography;* update the vendor lists; and* update the material on the CD (for use on a Web Extra), including new collection development plans with accompanying permissions.From the first edition:Covering virtually every aspect of its subject, Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections is a soup-to-nuts guide perfect for students and beginning librarians, yet full of sage advice and new ideas for experienced practitioners. This landmark new text was overseen by a stellar editorial advisory board: Karen Brown (Dominican University), Kay Ann Cassell (Rutgers University), Alma Dawson (Lousiana State University), Ann O'Neill (Emporia State University), and Patricia Oyler (Simmons College). Vicki Gregory, Professor at the University of South Florida, takes a process approach to her subject, making the book easy to consult about a specific question or problem. Practical and to the point, here's an authoritative guide to collection development and management that covers the entire gamut:* Chapter 1: The Impact of New Technologies on Trends in Collection Development and Management* Chapter 2: Needs Assessment in Collection Development* Chapter 3: Collection Development Policies* Chapter 4: Selection Sources and Processes* Chapter 5: Acquisitions* Chapter 6: Budgeting and Fiscal Management* Chapter 7: Assessment and Evaluation of the Collection, including Deselection (Weeding)* Chapter 8: Cooperative Collection Development and Resource Sharing* Chapter 9: Marketing the Collection and Outreach to the Community* Chapter 1: Legal Issues in Collection Development* Chapter 11: Diversity and ADA Issues* Chapter 12: Gifts and Exchanges* Chapter 13: Professional Ethics and Intellectual Freedom* Chapter 14: Preservation* Chapter 15: Future of Collection Development and ManagementEach chapter includes discussion questions, activities, references, and selected readings. Special features include samples of a needs assessment report, a collection development policy, an approval plan, and an electronic materials license.
Call Number: Dewey Z687 .G68 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Collection Development Tools (Online) for Children'and Young Adult Literature
Books in Print
Records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from over 200,000 North American publishers. Now including Publishers, Distributors & Wholesalers of the U.S. which is updated quarterly. Select the K-12 tab to identify current an forthcoming children's books. Selections contain professional and reader reviews.
Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books
Publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people.
Magazine previewing over 5000 books each year, including adult fiction and nonfiction hardcovers and trade paperbacks, as well as children's and young adult titles.
Information Science Librarian
Collection Development Tools for Children's Magazines
Magazines for Libraries by
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference PN4832.Z999 K37X
Publication Date: 2020