Deakin Review of Children’s Literature The Deakin Review of Children’s Literature is an electronic quarterly review of contemporary English-language materials of interest to children and young adults. Of particular use to librarians, parents, teachers and anyone working with young people, we also publish news and opinions relevant to children’s literacy.
Lion and the Unicorn The Lion and the Unicorn, an international theme- and genre-centered journal, is committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, the mass media, and popular culture. It is especially noted for its interviews with authors, editors, and other important contributors to the field, as well as its outstanding book review section.
Databases with reviews
Books in Print Records of in-print and forthcoming books from over 200,000 North American publishers. Now including professional and reader reviews
Literature Resource Center Gale's Literature Resource Center focuses on undergraduate students and provides access to biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis from the core sources Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, although additional Gale sources are represented. It includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. In addition, it includes a link to the full-text of Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, 1995. Please review the LRC's own "about file" for information on the database's coverage and updates that will appear frequently.
American Reference Books Annual (ARBA) Online ARBAonline provides quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. It is derived from the print resource American Reference Books Annual. ARBAonline features nearly 17,000 reviews of reference works, covering reference sources from more than 400 publishers in over 500 subject areas.
Artisan Book Reviews.Artisan Book Reviews is powered by a qualified, experienced team of professional writers and book reviewers, educated expert book marketers, author awareness advertisers and recognition consultants, active social media promotion specialists and advisers, and skilled computer techs.
Bulletin of the Center for Children's BooksThe Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books provides concise summaries and critical evaluations of current children's books. This invaluable resource assists readers with questions regarding the ever-evolving children's literature field. Reviews give an in-depth look at a selected book's content, reading level, strengths and weaknesses, and quality of the format, as well as suggestions for curricular use.
Children’s Book ReviewThe Children’s Book Review is A Resource Devoted To Children’s Literature And Literacy. It publishes Reviews And Book Lists Of The Best Books For Kids Of All Ages. It also produces Author And Illustrator Interviews And Share Literacy Based Articles That Help Parents, Grandparents, Caregivers, Teachers, And Librarians To Grow Readers.
Common Sense MediaCommon Sense Media rates movies, TV shows, books, and more so parents can feel good about the entertainment choices they make for their kids. They offer the largest, most trusted library of independent age-based ratings and reviews. Its timely parenting advice supports families as they navigate the challenges and possibilities of raising kids in the digital age.
Kids ReadEver craved a good book and just not been inspired by anything you see? Or felt annoyed that you bought a book that was merely so-so? Or closed a book and JUST wanted to talk about it? Or wished you had a place to discover new books?
The Book Report Network aims to solve these reader dilemmas, with thoughtful book reviews, compelling features, in-depth author profiles and interviews, excerpts of the hottest new releases, contests and more every week.
Reading Rockets Recommended Books by ThemeSometimes it just takes one wonderful book to turn a kid into a reader. Tap into what interests your child. Browse these book lists selected by Maria Salvadore, Reading Rockets children's literature expert. These books are for kids up to 9 years old, focus on new titles, and emphasize quality. Happy Reading!
Teen Book Finder DatabaseYALSA has launched the Teen Book Finder Database, which is a one-stop shop for finding selected young adult lists and award winners.
Through the Looking Glass Children’s Book ReviewsThrough the Looking Glass Children’s Book Review has been in operation since October of 2003. Their goal is to provide parents, teachers, and others with a tool to help them find truly exceptional books for the young people in their lives. They do not sell books, they just review them, and only review the books they like, so our reviews are always positive ones. Over time TTLG has expanded this fundamental goal to include doing what we can to review books published by small houses, to publicize organizations who work for children, and to publicize the work of new authors and illustrators.
Children's Literature Review by Gale ResearchAvailable in print and online. This illustrated series covers more than 600 writers and illustrators for children and young adults, including such notable figures as Louisa May Alcott, Judy Blume, A. A. Milne, Walter Dean Myers and Maurice Sendak. Typical entries consist of a listing of major works and awards and criticism from significant reviews and commentaries on the authors or artists works. Each volume includes cumulative author name and nationality indexes as well as a volume-specific title index. A cumulative title index to the entire series is published separately.
Publisher's WeeklyPublishers Weekly, familiarly known in the book world as PW and "the bible of the book business," is a weekly news magazine focused on the international book publishing business. It is targeted at publishers, booksellers, librarians, literary agents, authors and the media. It offers feature articles and news on all aspects of the book business, bestsellers lists in a number of categories, and industry statistics, but its best known service is pre-publication book reviews, publishing some 9,000 per year.
Indexes and Abstracts
Master Index to More Summaries of Children's Books, 1980-1990 by Eloise S. Pettus; Daniel D. PettusNeatly arranged by author, this tome was designed to help librarians and teachers figure out what various children's books are about. It also includes separate and useful title and subject indexes.
Call Number: Dewey Library Reference Z 1037 P46 1985
Publication Date: 1998
Children's Book Reviews, Summaries, Abstracts, and Research