"Affect Control Theory researchers measure affective meanings of different kinds of people, places, and behaviors. They use the measurements to predict the ways that people from a particular culture will behave, emote, and characterize one another." An example of a web tutorial which provides comprehensive coverage on a particular topic within interpersonal communication. Includes bibliographies and list of related websites.
C-theory.net "is an international journal of theory, technology, and culture, publishing articles, interviews, event-scenes and reviews of key books." Provides full-text articles previously published, lists and annotations of relevant books.
Site contains links to sources relating to american studies, critical legal studies, critical theory, cultural studies, disciplinary studies, literary studies, marxist studies, media studies, popular culture, postcolonial studies, postmodern studies, poststructuralism, queer studies, race studies, women's studies. Site has not been updated since 2005 but may contain useful information.
"Ethno/CA News is a medium for the exchange of information concerning publications, conferences and other items relevant to Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis among those who work in the field or have a strong interest in it."
List of links which offer definitions of theories from the book by Em Griffin, Professor Emeritus of Communications at Wheaton College in Illinois.
Information and links on organizations, definitions, papers, books, periodicals, education, software, conferences and forums relating to Constructivism.
A vast array of resources provided by the University of Iowa's Department of Communication Studies including texts and projects.
Professor Chandler's text outlines some of the key concepts in semiotics, together with relevant critiques, beginning with the most fundamental concept of the sign itself. "Semiotics is important because it can help us not to take 'reality' for granted as something having a purely objective existence which is independent of human interpretation. Through the study of semiotics we become aware that these signs and codes are normally transparent and disguise our task in 'reading' them. Living in a world of increasingly visual signs, we need to learn that even the most 'realistic' signs are not what they appear to be. By making more explicit the codes by which signs are interpreted we may perform the valuable semiotic function of 'denaturalizing' signs. In defining realities signs serve ideological functions." The site has been developed from his book and includes the following interactive sections; Signs, Modes of Address, Modality and Representation, Encoding/Decoding, Paradigms and Syntagms, Articulation, Syntagmatic Analysis, Intertextuality, Paradigmatic Analysis, Criticisms of Semiotic Analysis, Denotation, Connotation and Myth, Strengths of Semiotic Analysis, Rhetorical Tropes, Semiotic Analysis. In addition, Chandler links to a chat room devoted to discussion on semiotics.
"Social theory for fans of popular culture. Popular culture for fans of social theory."
Theory.org.uk explores the complex connections between media and identities. Provides excerpts on selected theorists, tips for media students and other resources.
