American Journalism Review is a national magazine that covers all aspects of print, television, radio and online media. The magazine, which is published six times a year, examines how the media cover specific stories and broader coverage trends. It is written and edited by respected journalists.
FACSNET, the online arm of FACS, Foundation of for American Communications, provides background material based on material covered at FACS seminars and conferences. In addition, FACSNET includes a database of sources and resources for journalists working on a deadline.
You must register (for free) to use resources which include internet resources, news, etc. divided by beat area.
A Selected List of Holdings in the Archives and Manuscripts Department, University of Maryland Libraries
"As violations of the right to free expression continue around the globe, the International Freedom of Expression eXchange (IFEX) has emerged as a strong force of opposition. IFEX is a dynamic network that monitors, promotes and defends freedom of expression worldwide. IFEX was born in 1992 in Montréal, Canada when leading free expression organisations came together to create a mechanism that would improve cooperation and allow for the rapid exchange of information on free expression issues. IFEX has over 80 member organisations operating in more than 50 countries, the majority in the developing world and countries in transition." IFEX claims to "play a key role in addressing threats to free expression by exposing violations and raising awareness of the dangers faced by individuals in many countries who report the news or criticise powerful figures."
Contains Web search tools, journalism resources, international communication, writing and editing help, listservs, and usenet groups.
Compiled by Professor Shelton Gunaratne, Minnesota State University Moorhead.
"IRE provides educational services to reporters, editors and others interested in investigative journalism and works to maintain high professional standards."
Includes training and conference information, a job and resource center, and etc. as well recent news articles.
A directory of online newspapers and broadcasters. Includes links to Story Beats (guides to information sources of use to journalists) and Find Experts (a directory of experts by subject).
Over 50 significant web sites for journalists.
Links to newspapers, magazines, radio and television web sites. Also includes job opportunities in the field.
Full text articles concerning the new trend in online journalism and all the issues involved. Updated weekly.
The Poynter Institute is a school for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalism. Maintains up to date information on the latest happenings in the journalism field.
Links to a variety of resources for journalists, including organizations, information resources, and publications. Use the Beat Source Guide to find resources by newsroom beat.
A list of books, databases and web sites that are useful sources for those studying public relations. This web page was created for MCOM 342 at Westfield State College. Last updated in 2003.
Links to web sites about technical writing with source descriptions.
