A study-tour of Communication, the "tutorial presents a fundamental overview of the study of communication with emphasis on the study of human communication." Topics include Self and Society, Signs and Language, and Mass Communication, as well as overview of method and theory. Created and maintained by retired Professor Richard W. Dillman of Communication at Western Maryland College.
Selected sources from the communication studies librarians serving as members of the Association of College and Research Libraries Educational and Behaviorial Sciences Section of the Communication Studies Committee.
Provides a list of scholarly journals that include titles such as Communication Theory, Health Education Research, Human Communication Research, International Journal of Public Opinion Research, Journal of Communication, The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education, Public Opinion Quarterly, Screen.
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Individuals may make requests for video tape loans for reference, study, classroom instruction, and research. Some materials may be ordered through Interlibrary loan such as duplications of entire broadcasts and compilation tapes of individual news stories.
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive records national news programs and has developed the most extensive collection of US News in the world. The collection consists of both regularly scheduled news programs and live news coverage of major events.
Regular Evening News Programs
The collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN since 1995. Regular news programs in the collection include:
ABC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present. CBS Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present. NBC Evening News: August 5, 1968 - Present. CNN: WorldView: October 2, 1995 -November 3, 2000. Wolf Blitzer Reports: February 1, 2001 - December 31, 2001. NewsNight: November 5, 2001 - Oct 28, 2005. Anderson Cooper 360: November 1, 2005 - present. Fox News Reports: January 15, 2004 - Present.
