Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases & Indexes
- This is the Web version of Chemical Abstracts, and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. Containg information back to 1907, it includes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may search by search by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure. SciFinder is available to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff, but REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED. SciFinder registration instructions.
- SciFinder Mobile.
- Web-enabled smartphone users can access SciFinder Mobile. SciFinder Mobile is available to any registered SciFinder user, however, there is a restriction of 100 detailed substance or references displays per day.
- SciFinder Need-to-Know Videos:
- SciFinder Resources and Help:
- SciFinder: Help and Frequently Asked Questions From the University of Texas at Austin Libraries, this guide provides detailed information about SciFinder content and search guidance.
- SciFinder: Keep Me Posted Keep Me Posted allows SciFinder users to set up current awareness alerts that will be automatically searched on a weekly or monthly basis and sent via email. The alerts can be based on subjects, substances, patents, authors, or even who's citing your work. This slide show demonstrates how to set up a Keep Me Posted alert.
- CAplus Core Journal Coverage List This is a great resource for decoding cryptic journal abbreviations and CODENs.
- CAS Standard Abbreviations and Acronyms From CAS, this resource lists standard abbreviations and acronyms used in SciFinder and other CAS sources.
- SciFinder Training These on-demand training resources are short, targeted materials, organized by search type.
- SciFinder -n Training
- Cambridge Structural Database.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a highly curated repository of small molecule crystal structures. It contains X-ray and neutron diffraction information for carbon-containing compounds composed of up to 1,000 atoms. Included are organics, organometallics, metal complexes, compounds of main group elements, peptides of up to 24 residues, and mono-, di-, and tri-nucleotides. The Web CSD version is usually sufficient for most users. The Client CSD version includes advanced features and requires downloading the client software. Contact Kathleen Flynn (email@example.com) for client software download instructions.
- Web of Science.
- Produced by Thomson Reuters, Web of Science indexes the contents of over 12,000 "high impact" journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct author searches to determine who has cited an author's works. Coverage begins with 1993.
Additional chemistry databases & indexes.