United States Statistics
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government
- Statistical Abstract of the United Statespublished since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Paper copies of the Statistical Abstract are also available in the libraries (HA 202 A36)
- FedStatsprovides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic.
- County and City Databook 2007also links to the 2000 edition.
UA Databases
- ProQuest CongressionalIndex to Congressional publications, 1789+. Also includes: Legislative Histories, testimony from Congressional hearings, bill tracking, text of CONGRESSIONAL RECORD, FEDERAL REGISTER, and information about members and committees.
- GalleryWatch CRS ReportsCRS (Congressional Research Service) reports are provided to members of Congress at their request. Each is an objective, nonpartisan analysis on a issue considered by congress.
United States Government Information in the University Libraries
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law." (Title 44 United States Code)
The University at Albany was designated a federal depository library in 1969. We are a selective depository library. Our collections are open to the public and reference assistance is available at the reference desk or by contacting the government information librarian (see contact information to the right)
United States government information is housed in the Periodicals Room on the basement level of the University Library. U.S. government documents are housed to the right as you enter the Periodicals Room. They are arranged in Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) number order. Paper, fiche, cd-roms, and dvds are all part of the collection and most will circulate if you have borrowing privileges with the University Libraries.
United States government information received by the libraries or available online is accessible by searching Minerva, the University Libraries' online catalog. Online United States government information selected by the government information librarian is also available via this guide.
The University Libraries have uncataloged collections of US government microforms. These microform collections are housed in Government Documents in the University Libraries' Periodicals Room. Collections are described in the attached document prepared by Lauren Schucker.
Catalogs, Databases, & Search Engines
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for KidsGeared at K-12 students, parents and teachers, these resources will teach how our government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out their civic responsibilities.
- FDsysGPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.
- FedWorld.govserves as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government. This service assisted agencies and the public in electronically locating Federal Government information, both information housed within the NTIS repository and outside of NTIS.
- Google ebookstoreTitles will appear on Google’s recently launched Google ebookstore, where they can be searched, purchased and read on any connected device with a capable browser – and at a lower costs to consumers. For example, a Google eBook version of President Obama’s 2011 federal budget proposal costs a fraction of the GPO printed version.
- Metalib GPOMetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
- United States Government Manual 1995-currentthe official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
- USA.govUSA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal.
Historical Information
- American MemoryAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Google BooksGoogle Books is adding full text federal documents. Using the advanced search screen, try searching for GPO, gov. print. off., or other variations in the publisher box. Or search by agency, title, etc.
- HathiTrustHathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Government documents are being digitized and can be searched via the HathiTrust.
- Historical Documents on USA.govincludes the Articles of Confederation, the Federalist Papers, the Bill of Rights, etc.
- Internet Archive - FEDLINKA number of FEDLINK (Federal Library and Information Network) libraries are having their collections scanned and made available through the Internet Archive.
- Our Documents.govTo help us think, talk and teach about the rights and responsibilities of citizens in our democracy, we invite you to explore 100 milestone documents of American history.
- Primary Documents in American HistoryThe Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
Government Information Librarian |
Contact Info University at Albany University Library LI-127 1400 Washington Ave Albany, New York 1222 United States Depository Library 0421-A Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Government Information |
UA Libraries - Ask Us!
.gov
- Business.govOfficial business link to the U.S. Government
- Childstats.goveasy access to statistics and reports on children and families.
- Congress.govLegislative information from the Library of Congress.
- Data.govThe purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government
- Recovery.govRecovery.gov is the U.S. government’s official website that provides easy access to data related to Recovery Act spending and allows for the reporting of potential fraud, waste, and abuse.
- Regulations.govcommitted to improving your access to and participation in the federal regulatory process.
- USA.gov - federal formsthe U.S. Government's official hub for federal forms
- USAspending.govgovernment spending at your fingertips.


Loading...
