Library Quick Links
- Minerva - The Library CatalogUse Minerva to see if the Libraries own an item or subscribe to a journal.
- Databases and Indexes Access subscription databases.
- Interlibrary Loan / UA Delivery
- Library Hours
- Style GuidesFind help with citing sources and creating a bibliography.
- Ask a Librarian
- Library Services
Students in the graduate communication department at SUNY Albany worked with the Driving Force to hold the university's first annual campus World Health Day.
Scope of Guide
The scope of this guide is introductory and highlights relevant reference sources for Communication Studies with respect to the University at Albany, Communication departmental programs. Key print and electronic indexes, abstracts, and databases are highlighted and annotated in this guide. This guide includes sources and collections that directly relate to Communication Studies, are multi-disciplinary in nature, or represent particular strengths of the collection. Selected unannotated monographs are included to exemplify broad categories and themes within Communication Studies at the University at Albany. Reference sources ("tertiary sources") assist researchers in locating primary and secondary resources related to their topics of choice. Print reference sources are typically found in the reference section of the library. Due to limitations of space in the reference area, many classic reference sources and important handbooks are shelved in the general stacks. Unless otherwise noted, sources listed in this guide are located at the University Library (uptown).
Subject Pages & Guides cover other subject related disciplines, such as political science, business, psychology, history, women's studies, sociology, education, and law. These multiple subjects may be necessary to address the interdisciplinary nature of Communication Studies topics.
Selecting a topic for a research paper or project can be very challenging. Using guides and resources developed by librarians can assist in navigating the research process. It may be important to use both print and electronic sources. Relevant resources for yur topic may be found in a variety of formats, including DVD, microform, monographs, and other media. General reference sources (primarily Internet links) can also be found via the University Libraries' Reference Collection Web page. The User Education department of the library provides many detailed instructional guides to familiarize students with various aspects of research, including "Ask a Librarian" service.
Librarians are scheduled to assist you at the Reference Desk located in each of the 3 campus libraries. We can assist you with research process, resource selection, and search strategies. Please ask questions at the desk, or by phone 442-3553, or by e-mail through our
Your Subject Specialist |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
