Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Periodically, vendors provide access to resources on a trial basis. If you find these resources useful, please let us know. Your feedback helps us develop collections that best serve you.
Public Administration and Policy
PAIS Internationa/PAIS Archive
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and other languages. It is updated quarterly with over 17,000 current records added in total each year.
Public Administration Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records for the English language journals in the field of public administration. Full text for some articles.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete provides full text from more than 1,600 scholarly business journals, and indexes over 4,300 titles. Many journals allow cited reference searching. Additional full-text non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports,country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, faculty seminars (video) and more.
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 160 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. Access to a comprehensive law review database; National Survey of State Laws; Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America; and New York Legal Research Library is included, along with access to other sources of primary and secondary legal authority.
SocialExplorer is award winning demographic data visualization and research website designed to engage users through dynamic maps and customizable reports. From research libraries to classrooms to government agencies to corporations to the front page of the New York Times, Social Explorer helps the public engage with society and science.
Accessing Electronic Resources Off Campus
University Libraries provides access to electronic resources through subscriptions, which come with certain licensing restrictions that dictate who may or may not access the materials. You may be prompted to enter your UAlbany credentials before you can access some databases.
How does a database know I'm allowed access?
- Start with the University Libraries website!
- If you access electronic resources through the library website, you will be prompted to enter your UAlbany credentials.
- Once you've entered your credentials, you will be able to access materials provided with the library's subscription.