Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Public Administration and Policy: Public Finance

New York State

New York State Division of Budget

Information about NYS finances including the text of the New York State Executive Budget.

New York State White Book

New York State Economic Report prepared by the assembly Ways and Means Committee.

New York State Yellow Book

Statistical and Narrative Summary of the Executive Budget prepared by the Assembly Ways and Means Committee.

Office of the New York State Comptroller

Reports and audits on NYS financial matters and local governments within NYS. Also information on New York's Public Authorities.

New York State Green Book

Report of the Senate Finance Committee and Assembly Ways and Means Committee regarding state disbursement of funds for the fiscal year.

Project Sunlight-a public integrity initiative

Maintained by the NYS Office of the Attorney General. Provides information regarding campaign finance, legislation (including member items), lobbying activity, and recipients of state government contracts.

Open Book New York

This site, maintained by the Office of the State Comptroller, provides current information on state contracts and state agency spending.

See Through New York

Site sponsored by the Empire Center for New York State Policy. Includes data on school district labor contracts, state contracts, state payroll, legislature expenditures on staff and operations, legislators designated expenditures for local community projects (member items), and more.

New York's Guide to the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act

NYS site providing information regarding the funds allocated to New York State, how the money is being spent, and a form for submitting proposals.

United States

Congressional Budget Office

CBO's mission is to provide Congress with analysis regarding economic and budget matters. Site includes budget and economic projections, historical data, analysis of the federal budget, and more.

General Accounting Office

GAO is the investigating arm of Congress. Its site contains reports evaluating federal programs and expenditures.

Green Book

A biennial publication of the Way and Means Committee of the House of Representatives, the Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on social and economic topics.

Office of Management and Budget

OMB is a unit within the Office of the President and is responsible for preparing the Budget of the United States Government and conducting financial analysis for the President.

Office of the Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)

This site includes information on the Defense Budget and Financial Management Topics.

Recovery.gov

U.S. web site established to track the spending of funds allocated through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (2009 economic stimulus).

USAspending.gov

Site maintained by the federal government providing access to federal contract and award data.

Public Interest Groups

Center for Defense Information

CDI "is a non-partisan, non-profit organization committed to independent research on the social, sconomic, environmental, political and military components of global security".

Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments

CSBA "is an independent, nonprofit public policy research institute established to promote innovative thinking about defense planning and investment strategies for the 21st century" .

Center on Budget and Policy Priorities

"The Center conducts research and analysis to help shape public debates over proposed budget and tax policies and to help ensure that policymakers consider the needs of low-income families and individuals in these debates. We also develop policy options to alleviate poverty."

Citizens Budget Commission

CBC "is a nonpartisan, nonprofit civic organization devoted to influencing constructive change in the finances and services of NYC and NYS government." It publishes reports which are available at this site.

Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

"The Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget is a bipartisan, non-profit organization committed to educating the public about issues that have significant fiscal policy impact. The Committee is made up of some of the nation's leading budget experts including many of the past Chairmen and Directors of the Budget Committees, the Congressional Budget Office, the Office of Management and Budget, the Government Accountability Office, and the Federal Reserve Board."

Fiscal Policy Institute

The Fiscal Policy Institute is a labor backed organization conducting analysis on NYS tax, budget, economic, and related issues in New York State.

OMB Watch

Originally "formed in 1983 to lift the veil of secrecy shrouding the White House Office of Management and Budget", OMB Watch analyzes budget and government performance issues, regulatory and government accountability, and nonprofit issues. Includes FedSpending.org a searchable database providing detailed information on grants and contracts awarded by the federal governemnt.

Public Policy Institute

The Public Policy Institute is the research arm of the Business Council of NYS. It concentrates on budget, tax, and other economic issues as they relate to NYS.

Tax Foundation

Founded in 1937, the Tax Foundation's stated mission is to provide the lay public with information pertaining to federal and state tax issues.

National Priorities Project

The National Priorities Project (NPP) focuses on the impact of federal budget and tax policies on states and communities. Its NPP data contains federal data which can be manipulated to create tables, graphs and reports. Also, provides "factsheets" and reports on current issues.

The Project on Government Oversight

The Project on Government Oversight (POGO) is a nonpartisan organization that investigates corruption and other issues related to fiscal accountability in the federal government.

Subject Guide

Angela Hackstadt's picture
Angela Hackstadt
Contact:
Dewey Library 202
University at Albany
442-3698