Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Public Administration and Policy: Nonprofits

Nonprofits

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Searchable database of grants and assistance programs funded by the federal government. Includes information regarding the preparation of proposals.

Center on Nonprofits & Philanthropy

CNP is affiliated with the Urban Institute. It conducts research on the societal role and impact of nonprofit organizations. Part of the CNP, The National Center for Charitable Statistics, serves as a repository of statistical information on nonprofits. Links provide access to other relevant Internet sites including academic centers which study philanthropy.

The Center on Philanthrophy at Indiana University

Much of the research conducted at the Center is available thru its web site.

Charities Bureau (Office of the New York State Attorney General)

The Attorney General's Charities Bureau is responsible for supervising charitable organizations in New York state. Its web site includes important information regarding legal aspects of nonprofit management. Also, the full text of the annual report, Pennies for Charities, which documents the amount of money collected by fund reaisers actually going to charities.

Charity Navigator

"Charity Navigator, America's premier independent charity evaluator, works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 5,500 of America's largest charities."

The Foundation Center

Founded in 1956, the Center is the nation's leading authority on institutional philanthropy and is dedicated to serving grantseekers, grantmakers, researchers, policymakers, the media, and the general public." The web site offers free information on grantmaking, research information on philanthropy, and Online Librarian for submitting questions. Some features, such as the online version of the Foundation Directory require a subscription.

Guidestar - the national database of nonprofit organizations

Produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc., this site includes a searchable database of more than 850,000 nonprofit organizations.

Independent Sector

Independent Sector (founded in 1980) is a coalition of major nonprofit organizations. The web site provides information on events, conferences, publications, research, lobbying, as they relate to nonprofit organizations.

Internal Revenue Service - Charities & Non-profits

Provides federal tax information for nonprofits.

Internet Resources for Nonprofits

Provides a short directory, and description, of web sites of use to nonprofits.

New York Council of Nonprofits

NYCON is a statewide association of diverse nonprofit organizations. Provides services to members and acts as a collective lobbying voice.

Nonprofit FAQ

Site maintained by Action Without Borders.

NP Action

NP Action is a project of OMB Watch, a nonpartisan government watchdog group. NP Action provides information for nonprofits interested in public policy advocacy. It includes links to important state government departments in each of the states, information on the legal parameters involving nonprofit lobbying, and much more.

Subject Guide

Angela Hackstadt's picture
Angela Hackstadt
Contact:
Dewey Library 202
University at Albany
442-3698