Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Brief Guide to Research for Philosophy: Finding Articles

Use Databases to Find Articles

There is a large variety of databases, e-texts, and indexes for Philosophy research. Some indexes only contain citations; others contain citations and abstracts. More and more databases are offering full-text in addition to citations and abstracts.

The most important resources are listed here:

 

  • The Philosopher's Index: Accessible to University at Albany users only. Produced by Philosopher's Information Center, the database contains over 213,000 bibliographic citations with author abstracts in the fifteen fields of philosophy. It covers over 480 journals from 38 countries in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French. Coverage is from 1940 -- present.
  • PhilPapers: Accessible to University at Albany users only. This is a full-text database of 11 philosophers' works in authoritative editions in both the original language and English translations.
  • Past Masters: Accessible to University at Albany users only. This is a full-text database of 11 philosophers' works in authoritative editions in both the original language and English translations.

  • to access additional Databases important for research in Philosophy click here.