Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Home

Science (multidisciplinary and technology): A Brief Guide to Library Resources: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

How Many? A Dictionary of Units of Measurement.

Provides not only definitions but also gives a taste of the history & politics behind the units of weights & measures.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 121 M3 2002]
Contains authoritative articles for all disciplines in science and technology. The articles are signed and include a definition, overview, relationships to broader or specialized topics, and cross-references to other articles. 20 volumes include topical and analytical indexes. See also the McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology [SCIENCE REF Q 121 M29 1998].
 
Oxford Reference Online:  Science and TechnologyAccessible to University at Albany users only

Oxford Reference Online provides access to several science and technology resources. They may be searched together at the link above or browsed individually.

Reader's Guide to the History of ScienceAccessible to University at Albany users only

From Credo Reference, the Reader's Guide to the History of Science is an encyclopedia covering individuals, institutions, disciplines, and general themes and central concepts. Each entry includes a detailed bibliography to locate addition information. This resource may be searched or browsed.

Science & Technology Dictionaries

From Babylon Ltd., Science & Technology Dictionaries provide definitions of science and technology terms from one or more dictionaries. Enter a term and receive definitions from several dictionaries. Subjects covered include agriculture, astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, computer & internet, earth science, energy, engineering, mathematics & statistics, physics, and zoology.

Subject Guide